Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 07-15-2009, 11:44 PM

Default Control Key Brings Up Pencil Tool

I'm a newb to PT (3 months now) and have recently encountered a problem with my "Control Key" and right click functions.

Up until now all was well and I was able to access the "right option menu functions(separate, copy, etc)" by either right clicking(which is set to "Secondary Click") or control key-clicking in the track regions
But, recently whenever I hit my "control key" or right click I get either the Pencil Tool on MIDI tracks or a Scrub tool on Audio tracks.

I believe that I may have inadvertently toggled into some kind of funky keyboard edit mode or something.
Does anyone have a possible tip or suggestion as to what maybe I'm doing wrong.
It would be greatly appreciated.....not being able to access the secondary option menus with my right click is bugging me.

Once again, I'm a newb to PT(although not new to DAWs or recording).

Me gear/computer/RAM/CPU details should be in my profile signature below.

Thanks In Advance,
Eric

P.S. Just realized I forgot to put my OS in my sig. Latest OSX Leopard.
Old 07-15-2009, 11:49 PM

Default Re: Option Key Brings Up Pencil Tool

My bad.........thought that the "System Details" that I filled out upon regsistration would be a signature when posting.

Here's an overview of my config.

iMac 2.0 Intel Core 2 Duo
4GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
Digi 003 Factory
PTLE 8.0
MPK 2
(2)OWC Mercury-Elite 750GB Hard Drives (1 for Audio, 1 for VI & Samples)
Old 07-16-2009, 12:25 AM

Default Re: Control Key Brings Up Pencil Tool

Nothing is wrong, it's the smart tool.
Old 07-16-2009, 07:59 PM

Default Re: Control Key Brings Up Pencil Tool