Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 06-12-2001, 07:40 AM

Default Opinion of the Mac from a Mac user

I've been using Macs for about 4 years now and while I generallly love my Mac, I'm really questioning whether I want to buy another one. The main reason being the lack of number-crunching power considering the price.

You see, when I decided I needed a new computer I made a point of keeping an open mind and looked into PCs. I found that you can build an incredibly powerfull computer for very little money. (Check out www.tomshardware.com if you don't believe me.) I then began to read the windows PT LE forum and was amazed at how many plugins they were able to run. For example, one person running an Athlon was able to have 24 tracks plus 16 auxes and over 200 plugins! I have yet to hear about any Mac exhibiting anywhere near that kind of performance.

I know that there are many more plugins available for the mac and the windows version lacks some functions that the mac version has, but considering the sheer power that PCs (specifically the Athlons) have, I'm having a hard time justifying 3K+ on a new mac.

Are there any other mac users feeling the same way?
Old 06-12-2001, 09:52 AM

Default Re: Opinion of the Mac from a Mac user

yep. i think about it everyday.

i have an 8600/300 (g3 400 upgrade) running 9.1

very nice, but it cost 3 times what a g4 does now and is slower.

a very good working pc with windows is a nice thing. i use pc's everyday, and occasionany build them/upgrade them for people. i do not own one but must use about 6 different ones.