Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-22-2001, 11:53 PM

Default Best compressor on a budget

The two I am looking at now are the FMR RNC and the PreSonus ACP22. Forums and reviews seem to regard both very highly and favor them in comparison to units over $1000. I can't seem to decide from literature which one would be better. Whichever unit I get, its most used application will most likely be vocals, where acoustic guitar and clean guitars also secondary. I don't have enough imputs or mics to do drums, so that won't be much of an application.

I'm set up at home with ProTools but use it primarily to mix projects I've recorded at larger studios, so I'm no beginner to the world of high end compressors. Arguably my favorite vocal compressor is the 1176, so I'll use that as a reference. How do these other low budget compressors compare? Should I not even bother and opt to continue using only plugins like Rennaissance and Bombfactory for vocal compression?

I've been eying the Avalon 737 for a while but it's just too expensive right now. Any ideas or first-hand accounts?
Old 04-23-2001, 07:14 AM

Default Re: Best compressor on a budget

Hi Corey,

I haven't done too many A/Bs with this lot other than to say that I bought the FMR RNC because it was VERY good and very affordable. We have some classy Avalons at work but the RNC holds its own (to my ears)for the home studio stuff I do (and I do output commercial recordings).

Regards,

Haigbabe
Old 04-23-2001, 07:23 AM

i have to chime in on the acp22; its a great comp. good sound, meters too.

the gates are tricky- best suited for live sound, but the comps are awesome.

you could always just use rtas gates with the presonus.