Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-22-2008, 01:24 PM
schumach schumach is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Default OS Crashes when opening protools

10.4.11 Quad core intel
Mbox2 pro

For some reason every once in a while when I open protools I will get the grey curtain of death. also known as a curnal panic. this happened 5 times in the last 3 months. I have repaired my disk permissions a few times. every time I do I get a lot of things dealing with fonts.???

also previously I had a problem with the M box not playing audio. I had to unplug the firewire and then plug it ack once the light started blinking. that usually fixed it until i shut down or restarted. I haven't had that problem in a while but I thought it might be related.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-22-2008, 03:09 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,826
Default Re: OS Crashes when opening protools

This could be caused by any number of things - any software or hardware on your computer could be a factor. Bad RAM sticks, loose cable connections, software incompatibilities, corruption, etc.

Can you post more complete system info - Pro Tools version, attached peripherals, which of the General Troubleshooting steps you've tried, etc.

You may want to consider a clean OS and Pro Tools install, to reduce the possibility of OS corruption being a factor.

You could also post a crash log - it may have some info about what caused the kernel panic.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2008, 10:43 AM
schumach schumach is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Default Re: OS Crashes when opening protools

Ok i have version 7.3.1

firmware version 2006-06-23 04:33:45 -0400

I was copying files to the same drive or up loading files to an FTP site. when i opened protools the system would crash in the initial start up,( The screen with the PT logo and loading plugins)not when it was opening the session itself.

I am running a Quad core Intel with 2x 500 GB of hard drives and 4 GB of RAM.

Could the fact that the M box was giving me play back issues before have anything to do with this. the odd thing is it did it yesterday and i wasn't even opening a session, i was just copying a lot of file to be burned and loading files on to an FTP site
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools crashes on opening sessions Etienne_C Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-29-2010 07:31 AM
protools crashes while opening straight cash 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 01-23-2007 11:04 AM
ProTools LE 6.4 crashes when opening a session olguitar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-07-2004 05:13 PM
ProTools crashes when opening from firewire Nathanael 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 02-02-2004 12:44 PM
Opening new session crashes Protools Studiomeijer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-21-2003 05:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com