Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 12-19-2023, 01:08 PM

Default Old setup - undecided on what to do…

Hi everyone,

It’s my first post in the forum so be gentle with me :)

I bought the setup in my signature more than 10 years ago. For various reasons I used it very little back then, however now I want to go back to recording in a home studio. I have some PT knowledge and I think I could get back into things.

I am really unsure about whether to keep this old setup or ditch it. Here are the facts.

I tested the system today and it seems to works fine. By this, I mean I turned on the computer, connected the 003, opened a super-old session, played, and then record using a few channels. (Might be an unnecessary detail, but I also tested an equally old Digimax D8 for extra channels which I might never use, and an old ‘physical’ compressor in my small rack). I have a bunch of plug-ins/virtual instruments too from back in the day, so my idea would be to keep the computer completely offline and use this setup until it lasts. That’d be the most economic approach…Mind you, I am mainly a musician (and an average one at best), so I might consider outsourcing mixing and mastering too…but let’s say for now I’d be just recording and editing (and maybe some light pre-mix). So not many plug-ins perhaps, but probably I’d need virtual instrumens (got an old small midi keyboard for that)

Is anyone still using a legacy system like this? Am I just being irrational and falling prey to some sort of sunk cost fallacy? Any strong reason why I should just buy the bullet and either: