Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-21-2010, 08:48 PM
Filmusic Filmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 516
Default pt 9 smooth ride

Well, I've got a few PT 9 rigs up and running now

1. a dual 2X3.00 xeon core dell 690 running 8 gigs of 667 ram on a 003r

and

2. a dell 390 running a 6600 2.4 core2duo with 4 gigs of 667 ram on a mbox pro

damn - both these systems are snappy

HISTORY
I bought into PTLE with an original mbox in and around version 5.x

I gave up on PT LE at about 7.4...although I kept buying the upgrades...ha ha...then trying them...then switching to another program...cause i couldn't get more then 8 tracks in ptle working correctly - ever

I've bought and tried and still use many different daws while running away from ptle....Ableton Live, Tracktion, Reaper, Record/Reason

Hell I even went backwards and compiled a mix plus plus system runing a
1. 24bit adat bridge
2. 4 x digi 888/24s
3. and a 1622/20

now don't get me wrong I do love my mix system (ha ha...specially cause I've got it running on a 2.4 quadcore...damn thing smokes)

but - now, I have a few small PT9 systems that sing in pace with my speed of creative writing...and with my mboxpro and digi 003 things are just so much easier to physically move around then 2 racks of a mix system...although my mix system does look and sound way cool, it is my mbox pro and my digi 003r that i can easily toss into a cab with a computer (or a laptop) and go do a session

dang, with pt9 - I'm just a happy guy - that's all...just thought I share

ok ok so I'll keep Reaper...I mean who wouldn't - but I'm really glad to be back in the hands of PT with this incredible version 9 - whew ....it's been a struggle holding on...but looks like we made it!

hum....what's next....do I go for a used 192 and a couple of cards...hum? (i'm enjoying the greed with PT9...hell I'm wallowing in it)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-21-2010, 10:50 PM
M-ManLA's Avatar
M-ManLA M-ManLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: pt 9 smooth ride

HAHAHA funny. I will upgrade soon. I need to buy a new GPU for my workstation, then I'll upgrade (also will upgrade Reason, Record, and Melodyne). Next year I'm planning do go dual CPU. Get two Intel Xeon 5620, with an Intel or Asus mobo with a Intel 5520 chipset, install up to 24GB of RAM, A nice energy effecient PSU, a new SSD for the system drive and a couple of 1TB HDD for Audio.

It seems like PT9 has made a believer out of people. That is good because I think this was the PT version we have all been waiting for. I'm thinking about going HD next year too if I can make enough $$$. Not sure if I'll get the HD|Native, or see what new TDM cards will come out.
__________________
www.M-ManLA.com
www.facebook.com/MManLA
www.soundcloud.com/m-manla


Pro Tools 12, Sibelius First 7/Presonus Studio 192/Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-22-2010, 12:35 PM
Filmusic Filmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 516
Default Re: pt 9 smooth ride

24 gigs of ram - now your starting to make me drool - ha ha - excellent!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-23-2010, 04:41 PM
M-ManLA's Avatar
M-ManLA M-ManLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: pt 9 smooth ride

Oh yea makes me drool all the time lol. That is why I'm pushing for 64-bit PT. Pair that with some nice Nehalem Chips and a SSD and a couple of 1TB WD Blacks. Or maybe Sandy Bridge Socket 2011 will be out by then. Oh the dreams...
__________________
www.M-ManLA.com
www.facebook.com/MManLA
www.soundcloud.com/m-manla


Pro Tools 12, Sibelius First 7/Presonus Studio 192/Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2010, 05:47 PM
Kirby B. Kirby B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 520
Default Re: pt 9 smooth ride

I just love PT9. Never an error (yet) and so stable - everything I always hoped PT would be!
__________________
Digi002R PT2018 Win 10
INTEL Core i7 930, 3.52 Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R
CORSAIR XMS3 12GB 1600Mhz
2 X WD 1TB Caviar Black 64 GB cache

MOTU Traveller PT2018
MacBook Pro Mojave
16GB DDR3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Ride or HiHat Mic, which one? Monty_python 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 08-22-2009 10:09 PM
Ride my Pimp Carl Kolchak General Discussion 3 12-03-2008 05:28 PM
Can't get the crash-ride in BFD lite to sound like at true ride-is this deliberate? studiostrat Virtual Instruments 3 09-11-2008 02:55 PM
Do you have a sweet ride? Mister Twain General Discussion 47 08-09-2007 06:50 AM
Which bus should I ride? ripple FX Storage Subsystems 5 09-26-1999 02:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com