How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 08-05-2023, 03:59 PM

Default Crackling in Pro Tools Recording

Hi all!

I'm new to Pro Tools and have been working on getting a project recorded. Unfortunately, it randomly crackles/statics during the recording process, or at least when I play back what I've recorded. I've done some research and have already adjusted the Sample Size a few times (it's currently maxed out), and I have made sure that the playback option is accurate for the I/O. My PC storage free space is at 32% currently, and from what I've read them minimum should be 20% so that it doesn't overload the PC.

My setup currently is:
- Pro Tools 2022.12.0 (Windows 10)
- Focusrite Scarlet 2i2 (input device)
- AKG P420 (microphone)

I'm currently downloading the latest version/driver (2023.3, as the warning said that 2023.6 doesn't work properly) to see if that helps, but is there anything else that could be the cause of this issue? I can record over the crackle bits, but I don't view that as a sustainable practice.

Any help would be appreciated. Let me know if there's any additional information that could help. Thanks in advance!
Old 08-05-2023, 04:27 PM

Default Re: Crackling in Pro Tools Recording

Can’t tell for sure without complete system specs. (You didn’t provide any info about your computer.) But check your sync source and make sure it’s on “internal.”

https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=300050

Last edited by sw rec; 08-05-2023 at 05:54 PM.
Old 08-05-2023, 04:44 PM

Apologies - I didn't know what all was needed.

Device
Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 3600X 6-Core Processor 3.80 GHz
Installed RAM: 16 GB

Windows
Edition: Windows 10 Home
Version: 22H2
OS build: 19045.3208