Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 07-04-2001, 04:25 AM

Default Mixing in Pro-Tools EQ plug-in advice?

I am relatively new to Pro Tools and have followed the threads on mixer quality etc. My observations are that to mix and get separation and sparkle to the sound, clearly the EQ techniques are critical. I feel the Pro Tools mixer can be made to sound good if the EQ techniques are well understood and employed. What plug-in EQ's are best for this purpose as plug-ins or do people use outboard valve EQ's. I use focusrite d2. Can anyone recommend a better method? Has anyone tried the Sony Oxford EQ plugin. Thanx for your advice/tips
Old 07-04-2001, 08:01 AM

Default Re: Mixing in Pro-Tools EQ plug-in advice?

McDsps EQ plugins are amazingly musical and very easy on the DSP. Highly recommended.
Old 07-04-2001, 04:24 PM

i second
Old 07-04-2001, 05:07 PM

Waves RenEQ's are also great and have a nicer interface(IMO) plus more flexibility in some ways. McDSP is what i use often largely due to its much lower dsp options. (a RenEQ2 uses the same as a RenEQ 6 i believe). both McDSP and RenEQ are the ones to look into. if you only have one, i would lean towards McDSP. oh yeah, i'd be interested to know how the Sony EQ fairs. also, i think there is an eq plug by Massenburg Works which may be a winner also...

[ July 04, 2001: Message edited by: Felix ]
Old 07-05-2001, 05:11 AM

Thanks for the advice I will look into the REN and McDSP options. One further question is do they process at 48bit and dither, this has clearly got ot be important in light of other threads

Thanks
Old 07-05-2001, 11:02 AM