Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-05-2008, 10:30 AM

Default Recording through ADAT port on 003

Hi all, I'm planning to buy an 003 Factory - Pro Tools LE setup, with an iMac over the next couple of days. I'm also getting a Roland TD20K, which has 8 analogue direct outs for separate kit parts. I'm hoping to get some sort of A/D convertor (any suggestions?) for these outputs, and take an optical lead into the 003, then record all 8 tracks separately into pro tools (along with anything else that may be running into the 003).

I'm new to Pro Tools, and Macs....can someone please tell me if this will work, and also if there's a suggested maximum cable length for optical feeds? The TD20K will be about 8 meters away from the 003.

Thanks!

Oh, another thing I'm new to is MIDI!...this may be a simple/stupid question but can I also run a MIDI cable to and from the TD20K to the 003, record the MIDI into Pro Tools, then play it back through the TD20K as it sounded originally? Thanks again!
Old 01-05-2008, 12:23 PM

Default Re: Recording through ADAT port on 003

Hi RockGod,

Yes something like the Apogee Rosetta will do the analog to digital conversion for your 8 outputs on the TD20K. They have optical outs so you hook that up to the optical in on your 003. The nice bonus is that you can set the 003 to clock from the Rosetta and that makes all the AD and DA going on (even for the analog ins and outs on the 003) sound better.

If you're only going be using the TD20K on its own, recording other instruments at other times, you could just use the 8 analog ins on the 003, just use the line-ins not the Mic-pres for ins 1-4.