Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-04-2022, 09:43 AM

Default Transition from TDM to HDX or Mac M1 Max

I’m curious if people think HDX is still a relevant choice with the introduction of the M1 and M1 Max? HDX has been around for over a decade so how long until it’s replaced with newer tech, HDX Accel? I’ve watched a bunch of YouTube videos so I know the M1’s are fast, but I’m looking for comparisons of how they stack up to HDX.

I have been using the same HD3 TDM system on a Mac 2,1 since 2008. It still works fine, I usually use TDM plugs/mixer for recording and running headphone mixes and then mix 100% with native plug ins. I rarely hit more than 48 tracks.

To stay updated with my main songwriting soft synths I’ve had to make things more complicated than I prefer. I offloaded my soft synths to a MacBook Pro about 5 years ago running Ableton which connects to PT HD10 via my Soundgrid network. I have 2 192 interfaces for 32in 16out connected to my HD cards and 64 i/o on the network. The one thing I struggle with running a two computer system is sync and dealing with recording latency on my Ableton rig.

I’ve been considering upgrading to either HDX(which I assume would be like TDM but would run newer plugins and Softsynths) or just getting an M1 Max and going back to basic native Pro Tools. Consolidating the two systems to one machine would speed up and modernize my workflow. Low latency recording across the board and running newer plugins is my end goal.

I’m curious if anybody has gone from a TDM system to a native Pro Tools M1 system and what your thoughts are. Is HDX still a viable or necessary choice?
Old 09-01-2022, 11:28 AM