Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2006, 08:08 AM
whtrabit whtrabit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Texas USA
Posts: 424
Default Xpand! is in the Digistore

Didn't see this posted in this forum.
__________________
jimmy

15" Macbook Pro R 2.6 i7 Quad/16GB RAM/OS X 10.10.5
27" iMac 2.8 i7 Quad/16GB RAM/OS X 10.10.5
Studio One 3/Reason 8/Live 9/Logic Pro 9/Main Stage 3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2006, 03:43 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,676
Default Re: Xpand! is in the Digistore

Hi,

How can we get hold of Xpandi in the UK?

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2006, 03:48 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,576
Default Re: Xpand! is in the Digistore

The Xpand! CDs should be available next week in the European localized DigiStores, including the UK store.
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-16-2006, 07:38 PM
PMoshay PMoshay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: NY / CT
Posts: 624
Default Re: Xpand! is in the Digistore

anyone who has used it wanna share your thoughts?
__________________
www.PeterMoshay.com
www.LiveFromDarylsHouse.com
Check out new shows on the web each month on the 15th.
Always commercial free, watch on Mac/PC, mobile & tablets.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-16-2006, 08:08 PM
sleadley sleadley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sydney,NSW,Australia
Posts: 957
Default Re: Xpand! is in the Digistore

I have been using it solidly for the last couple of weeks. It is great! Now, naturally I want more sounds but what do you expect for Free? The quality is great and the Processor hit is pretty good. All in all I would say it is well worth the money!
my 2c
Simon L.
__________________
Plan for the worst, Hope for the Best.
www.trackdown.com.au
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-17-2006, 01:17 AM
KimSira KimSira is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 129
Default Re: Xpand! is in the Digistore

Hi
How do we get a hold of one of these in Australia, from the online store?

Cheers
Kim
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-17-2006, 06:41 AM
Vagn Luv Vagn Luv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 22
Default Re: Xpand! is in the Digistore

Am I right when I conclude that u won't be able to import ur own patches into it?

F.ex I have 25 GBs of sofsamplecell patches that I havent been able to use since Digi discontinued the softsamplecell, and left many of us stranded. I thought Kontakt would save my butt, but as Native Instruments take pride in ****ing the customers over, they released Kontakt2 without samplecell support - even though they advertized it as a feature. Nearly 1½ year later they still haven't released a patch to correct this (and many other bugs), so I've secretly been having dreams of Digi releasing their own RTAS/TDM sampler.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-22-2006, 12:20 PM
McMasters McMasters is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL, USA
Posts: 253
Default Re: Xpand! is in the Digistore

Just received my Xpand in the mail and installed it.

The first thing I did was check out how it handled the sounds. I saw the sounds folder was filled with 28 sub-folders. (very cool) So i checked deeper and the folders are filled with presets with ".tfx" extensions . All sized at 4KB (on a hard drive, 10k on the DVD), so these must referance a larger sample file. Now there is no shortage of presets. In total the presets take up 4.6MB on disk (2,695,264 bytes)

So doing the math 2,695,264 bytes divided by 4,000 bytes gives you about 673 presets. (nice) And the bonus is that alot of them are usable.

The largest file on the disk is a file called the "Xpand!.dat" which is approx 607.2MB (636,670,770 bytes). That file gets installed in your library/application support/digidesign folder. Isn't it better to keep the samples on a different hard drive?

I have only used it for about a hour now and have absolutely NO complaints.
It is simple and straight forward to use. It sounds very good.

Will it replace my sampletank?
Not completely, If digi releases some new .dat files with more speacilized sounds, like an "orchastra.dat" -- "acoustic piano.dat" --- "vintage drum machines.dat" or "brass and woodwinds.dat", then, yes it will slowly replace sampletank.

Will it replace Kontakt or Giga?
No, there is no way to edit, construct or map out your own samples. So if you are into the "deep editing" kind of sampler. This product will NOT make you happy. Xpand! has a quick "i am what I am" kind of feel.

When will I reach for it?
I will reach for it first, since it is new and I want to play with it. And most presets sound really good with a little tweak here or there.

THANK YOU DIGI. GREAT WORK. I MAKE MY LIVING WITH YOUR PRODUCTS.

As far as Xpand being proprietary. Oh well, so is SampleTank and Reason. If Digi puts together a large sample library for this thing I will buy it. I have far too many samples from too many different manufacturers I have used in the past. (over 50GB) I have found that trying to keep them all and convert them is a daunting task.

Besides how many 808 kick drums do I really need?
__________________
Who is John Galt?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-25-2006, 03:35 AM
milko milko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 21
Default Re: Xpand! is in the Digistore

Quote:
Hi
How do we get a hold of one of these in Australia, from the online store?

Cheers
Kim
I got mine from Musiclab for free.
__________________
===========
Apple G5 2.0 DP
4 Gig Ram, 2 x 250 HDs
HD2, 192 I/O with A/D expansion
Digidesign PRE and Midi I/O
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-25-2006, 08:09 AM
hearttimes hearttimes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 273
Default Re: Xpand! is in the Digistore

Quote:
Besides how many 808 kick drums do I really need?
Assuming you sampled the 808 kick only, with it's two variables, (tone and decay) and broke down each knob to ten settings a piece, 100 kick drums should cover you pretty well.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what is this in the digistore? dubhausdisco1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-06-2006 12:15 PM
Xpand is now in the Digistore!!! micline Virtual Instruments 38 03-22-2006 03:13 AM
Digistore tax TLarvenz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-13-2004 02:16 PM
PT 6.4 TDM now available in DigiStore Studio Dweller Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-28-2004 11:35 AM
DigiStore Johnny Law 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-22-2002 02:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com