Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-29-2016, 06:10 AM
pyrmont25 pyrmont25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: 25 Pyrmont Road, London, W4 3NR
Posts: 4
Default 12.6 layered editing not what it should be

Just got 12.6. Layered editing turned on. Placed a small clip over a larger clip, removed small clip and larger clip still intact as expected. HOWEVER place a large clip over a small clip and small clip disappears! I thought the whole point was to retain the clip underneath? I hate when you accidentally place a clip over another(shorter) it disappears. I expected this new layered editing to have sorted this!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-29-2016, 06:25 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,217
Default Re: 12.6 layered editing not what it should be

It's a preference you can set - whether it moves it to a new playlist or not.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-29-2016, 06:31 AM
pyrmont25 pyrmont25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: 25 Pyrmont Road, London, W4 3NR
Posts: 4
Default Re: 12.6 layered editing not what it should be

Ah ok thanks. What preference?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2016, 06:32 AM
cut cut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 77
Default Re: 12.6 layered editing not what it should be

From the video that I watched - it is supposed to create a new playlist underneath, if you enable that in pref's. Check your playlists for the smaller clip.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2016, 06:33 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,217
Default Re: 12.6 layered editing not what it should be

Setup / Preferences / Editing / Send Fully Overlapped Clips to Available Playlist While Editing
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-29-2016, 06:36 AM
pyrmont25 pyrmont25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: 25 Pyrmont Road, London, W4 3NR
Posts: 4
Default Re: 12.6 layered editing not what it should be

Found it. Don't understand why this should be any different!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-29-2016, 06:53 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,580
Default Re: 12.6 layered editing not what it should be

Avid engineering is handling this slowly, as it should IMO. Hence prefs like Pete mentioned etc.

Changes this fundamental to the workings of PT should be eased into.

Expect Layered Editing to continue to be enhanced as time goes by.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-29-2016, 08:39 AM
cut cut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 77
Default Re: 12.6 layered editing not what it should be

Quote:
Originally Posted by pyrmont25 View Post
Found it. Don't understand why this should be any different!
To be honest it is a new feature - so it really can't be any different because there is no departure point from which to judge a difference.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-29-2016, 03:02 PM
jamesregan jamesregan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 17
Default Re: 12.6 layered editing not what it should be

Track Compositing Shortcuts....

I can't speak for the PC versions of these but looks like the mac versions are not as described in the pdf doc.

(Move the selection to the main playlist Option+Control+M) is actually OPTION SHIFT M?
(Copy the selection to a new playlist Control+Shift+Left Arrow) is OPTION SHIFT DOWN ARROW?

(Move the selection to a new playlist Control+Shift+N) OPTION SHIFT N?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Pan Layered Sounds In XPAND2 If.. MIKEIKE Pro Tools | First Discussion 0 10-06-2015 12:43 PM
Midi to audio layered tracks bobbyrichards Pro Tools 10 0 03-27-2013 01:28 PM
how to swap layered, looped takes in pt8? c-post Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-11-2013 04:32 AM
Creating a Layered Instrument...Using Xpand! Avid Virtual Instruments 0 02-15-2006 07:40 PM
Burning CD's, bits of music layered where they don't belong michaelwalker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-16-2002 08:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com