Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-10-2011, 09:29 AM

Default Help trying to use 2 limiters

I'm new at this post production and have been reading everything i can get my eyes on ,not to mention my ears. What i was tring to experiment with was the idea of using to limiters on master session as opposed to using one. I'm not tring to get in to the how much can i squeeze war , i'm tring to see if it is cleaner this way.my question is the threshold on limiter # 1 and then on limiter #2 so each limiter is doing half the job. I'ts whippy me ,any insight i would be grateful. This is a cool site .thanks for reply
Old 01-10-2011, 10:10 AM

Default Re: Help trying to use 2 limiters

Well... First of all what is it that you're trying to acheive? Are you limiting to controll the dynamics or for an effect?

Second are you limiting the stereo mix out or just a single track/instrument?

-----------------------------------
MUSICIAN & MUSIC PRODUCER
WWW.STUDIO-STUDIO.CO.UK
UK RECORDING STUDIOS
WWW.ATTIC-MUSIC.CO.UK
MUSIC PRODUCTION COMPANY
Old 01-10-2011, 11:12 AM

I'm tring to bring up the average rms level to -14 dbs and i want it not squashed, thanks for reply . I'm currently runing a bounced file to a new session to try? To do some mastering knowledge gaining experiments. 1st waves eq . Then opto compression fast attack ,medium release time,very lil gain reduction, to waves lin mb, slowly doin gain staging, to a waves ren set up as parallel compression to l2 limiter to l316 , thanks
Old 01-11-2011, 06:04 AM

Ok no problem.