Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2015, 01:43 PM
javasound javasound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Sioux Falls
Posts: 24
Default Can I Transfer Ownership of Pro Tools 12 Perpetual License?

Hi guys,

I recently upgraded my Pro Tools 11 Software to version 12, but am trying to sell it. Searched on Avid site for info and found a form that has to be filled out by both the Transferor (me) and the Transferee (buyer)...

http://avid.force.com/pkb/servlet/fi...ent_1__Body__s

...which describes the process, and that's all fine, except!!

The form says under the single asterisk the following, "Please note that Pro Tools software products that have been upgraded to the newer 2015 support plans and newer Pro Tools products which include 2015 support plans are not currently available for transfer."

Now, I have a perpetual license for Pro Tools 12, but I don't have any support plans associated with it..... am I able to transfer or am I screwed??? Somebody please advice.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2015, 03:14 PM
stanonbass stanonbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 917
Default Re: Can I Transfer Ownership of Pro Tools 12 Perpetual License?

were forcing you to upgrade or else and you cant leave.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2015, 03:29 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,967
Default Re: Can I Transfer Ownership of Pro Tools 12 Perpetual License?

Quote:
Originally Posted by javasound View Post
Now, I have a perpetual license for Pro Tools 12, but I don't have any support plans associated with it..... am I able to transfer or am I screwed??? Somebody please advice.
If you have a license for Protools 12, then you have a support plan for it. Because Protools 12 is only available through either an upgrade while currently on a support plan, or as a new product that comes with 12 months of the support plan.

Just because the Avid guys haven't straightened out your account to show a support plan in it, doesn't mean that you don't have it.

But, no; current versions of Protools (with the support plan) are not available to transfer. You can leave the Protools platform and use something else, but you are stuck with your Protools software wether you like it or not.

Plus, I mean, at this point, who would want to buy Protools 12?
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2021.7
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2021.7, DAPS, L-ISA Studio

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-06-2015, 05:31 PM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,456
Default Re: Can I Transfer Ownership of Pro Tools 12 Perpetual License?

Somebody said you eventually will be able to transfer ownership only they haven't got that ready for use yet.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-06-2015, 05:38 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,390
Default Re: Can I Transfer Ownership of Pro Tools 12 Perpetual License?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olhsson View Post
Somebody said you eventually will be able to transfer ownership only they haven't got that ready for use yet.
I too have heard that something's in the works regarding this. I guess only time will tell.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-06-2015, 07:05 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,434
Default Re: Can I Transfer Ownership of Pro Tools 12 Perpetual License?

"not currently available" sums it up positively. IMO
The new system just started......
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-07-2015, 06:34 AM
javasound javasound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Sioux Falls
Posts: 24
Default Re: Can I Transfer Ownership of Pro Tools 12 Perpetual License?

Thanks guys. Not that I really want to leave, I love Pro Tools, but it's a pain to work with it on Windows !!! Can anybody relate? I see a show of hands!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-07-2015, 08:38 AM
javasound javasound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Sioux Falls
Posts: 24
Default Re: Can I Transfer Ownership of Pro Tools 12 Perpetual License?

That's a very interesting way to put it! :)
So I will have to troubleshoot it !!
And though the software is so great,
It won't play nice with Windows Eight!

No matter how you try to work it
You will just end up being more worried
Somebody give me one more reason
To get out of this Windows prison!!

LOL
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-07-2015, 09:22 AM
javasound javasound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Sioux Falls
Posts: 24
Default Re: Can I Transfer Ownership of Pro Tools 12 Perpetual License?

Hey guys, the answer to the question in this thread title lies in my products page. Here's what I ignored, silly me !!

https://www.dropbox.com/s/etw99v9loc...nshot.png?dl=0
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-07-2015, 09:32 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,739
Default Re: Can I Transfer Ownership of Pro Tools 12 Perpetual License?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olhsson View Post
Somebody said you eventually will be able to transfer ownership only they haven't got that ready for use yet.

This is a bone for sure, this is good news


I mean if he is leaving, he could always just sell his whole account (Ilok and avid).....but yeah no official transfer as of yet.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is the annual upgrade plan a perpetual license? jsbach Pro Tools 12 69 12-01-2015 12:07 PM
Pro Tools Express transfer of ownership atstrother Pro Tools 10 3 07-14-2015 09:48 PM
How do I update PT11 to a PT12 perpetual license? flautista Pro Tools 12 22 03-27-2015 11:09 AM
Is transfer of ownership possible with a PT9 license? NewdestinyX Pro Tools 9 6 01-21-2011 07:01 AM
Pro Tools LE 8: Transfer Ownership confusedhelp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-10-2009 04:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com