Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-15-2004, 10:25 AM

Default New boot drive in OSX with Carbon Copy Cloner?

I just received my first OSX computer. I had requested that my dealer install a Raptor 74 gig HD and copy everything from Apple's 250 onto it and add all the Protools software and all copy protection and ilok stuff (Digi plugins, Waves Platinum, Massive Pack and Auto Tune),,,then erase the Apple 250. I intend to use Apple drive for recording only. This was not done correctly. Various things ended up on both drives and the Apple is still the boot drive. I have no OSX experience. I called my dealer and he said get Carbon Copy Cloner. I was going to copy everything from the Raptor to the Apple HD, then use Carbon Copy Cloner to move everthing to the Raptor, then erase the Apple HD. Will this work properly? Will all my copy protection stuff move just fine?

Christopher Kimball
C.K.’s Musical Workshop
4090 W. Eaglerock Dr.
Wenatchee, WA 98801
509-667-0648
Email: [email protected]

Mac Dual 2.5 Ghz liquid cooled, 250 (Apple) and 74 Gig (Western Digital Raptor) HDs, 1 gig memory, OSX 10.3.5, 30" monitor, PT 6.7, Digi 192, Digi MIDI, 1 Accel Card
Wenatchee, WA 98801
509-667-0648
Old 11-15-2004, 06:42 PM

Default Re: New boot drive in OSX with Carbon Copy Cloner

I have copied with CCC and almost all of the authorized software worked. I think there was an issue
with Waves (this was pre-iLok) but I just emailed them and got a new authorization.
You actually have nothing to lose, assuming everything you own fits on the 74.
All the authorizations will be presumably on the 250, so:
Merge everything onto the 250, unmount the 74 and make sure that configuration works,