Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2003, 12:53 PM
Jonah Jonah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 314
Default USB Midi help needed ...

Long time no post but that'll be down to the wealth of topics and quality of the answers here, of course [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
How does USB midi work? I'll be using Gigastudio on a spare PC ( never could get it right on the audio PC )and I have a Midiman USB keyboard which comes with its own drivers. I want to go into Giga via USB ( easy enough ). Question is, can I come out of a spare USB port on the spare PC straight into a USB port on the audio PC to record midi into PTLE? If I can, how does the port know how to transmit midi to the audio PC?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-16-2003, 02:16 PM
Jonah Jonah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 314
Default Re: USB Midi help needed ...

That makes perfect sense - except I forgot to mention that I don't have midi on my Giga soundcard ( Gina 20 bit ), which is why I was hoping I could use USB all the way.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-17-2003, 01:06 AM
da BaSsTaRd! da BaSsTaRd! is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 4,933
Default Re: USB Midi help needed ...

i just bought the midiman radium. here's what you do:

plug in the usb and install the drivers on your PT machine. then connect the midi out of the keyboard (which is actually a usb midi out of the computer) to the midi in on the giga computer. then, in PT, create a midi track, set the input to midiman usb and the output to midiman usb midi out. then hit rec enable and you're off to the races...
__________________
i love my apple iPhone!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-17-2003, 01:09 AM
Jonah Jonah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 314
Default Re: USB Midi help needed ...

Db, thanks a million. Presumably you still install the drivers on the Giga PC too?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-17-2003, 01:34 AM
da BaSsTaRd! da BaSsTaRd! is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 4,933
Default Re: USB Midi help needed ...

no hay necessario... you're connected to midi on the giga machine via a cable. remember, you need to trigger off midi FROM your sequencer (PT) TO your sound module (giga). you just need the controller to ASSIST in your sequencing in PT.

PT -> usb midi out -> giga's soundcard midi in -> gigastudio

..-=> sample gets triggered <=-..

giga soundcard audio out -> digi001 -> PT aux track for monitoring (or audio track for recording).
__________________
i love my apple iPhone!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-17-2003, 12:57 PM
Jonah Jonah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 314
Default Re: USB Midi help needed ...

... so could I go from PT to Giga via USB as well?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-17-2003, 03:38 PM
Jonah Jonah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 314
Default Re: USB Midi help needed ...

Thanks O.G. Killa, that explains a lot too ...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-17-2003, 07:42 PM
da BaSsTaRd! da BaSsTaRd! is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 4,933
Default Re: USB Midi help needed ...

there is this thing by musiclab.com called midi over lan. you just need a network set up between the 2 computers. you install the software on both computers. the PT machine will send midi over the lan and the giga machine will receive it. i tried out the demo once and it worked great. no latency at all...
__________________
i love my apple iPhone!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-18-2003, 01:51 AM
O.G. Killa's Avatar
O.G. Killa O.G. Killa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,152
Default Re: USB Midi help needed ...

nope...not that I know of anyway. Every USB device has a smart chip in it that identfies itself to the USB host controller. If you plug one computer into another it will try to network the two together recognizing each other as Host Controllers. But it won't recognize one as a midi device since it doesn't broadcast it's ID as a midi controller. That's why when you plug in a USB sound card, the computer knows it's a sound card and not a Mouse, and when you plug in a USB mouse it knows it's a Mouse and not a Keyboard.

you'll need to get a small USB midi I/O for the giga system. Maybe check out Maudio to see what they have for inexpensive MIDI I/Os.
__________________
Derek Jones
Sound Engineer / Producer / Composer

Derek Jones Linkedin
Megatrax Recording Studios
Megatrax Studios Yelp Page
A-list Music Artist Page
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-19-2003, 01:03 AM
Jonah Jonah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 314
Default Re: USB Midi help needed ...

Thanks guys ... Like the sound of midioverlan especially.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP needed with MIDI LiteraryLady Windows 2 12-18-2012 10:36 PM
Midi help needed with digi002 no midi at all Floeperd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 01-31-2010 09:26 AM
Help Needed - Midi JackSummer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-04-2007 05:36 AM
Midi help needed... still Bezo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 01-04-2004 09:58 PM
MIDI HELP NEEDED laupflow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-17-2002 11:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com