Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2010, 04:53 PM
Hotcrazyfruit Hotcrazyfruit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,261
Default Which interfaces work? Which dont?

With PT9 supporting 3rd party interfaces, i'm most deffinatly in the market for a new interface.

Id like to start a thread about which interfaces deffinatly work, and anybodys personal experience with them. Presonus, Focusrite, MOTU, they all have some really nice budget interfaces, but particularly on the MOTU 8pre it doesn't mention anything about ASIO compliance. Anyone got any info?

Lets try to get a list of which interfaces work and which dont.

Thanks

Nick
__________________
Core i7 920 OC'ed @ 4.0 GHz (200 X 20)
12 GB Patriot Viper Extreme
Asus P6T
OCZ Agility 64 GB SSD
Hitachi 1TB 32 MB HDD
WD Caviar Black 500GB
Saphhire HD 5850
3 x 20" monitors

Eleven Rack w/ ERXP
Fender Super Champ XD
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100 Silver Edition W/ Silver Jubilee Cabinet
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2010, 04:59 PM
fiveyard fiveyard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posts: 13
Default Re: Which interfaces work? Which dont?

I agree, I'm in the same market! I'm guessing plenty of folk will only have Avid HW experience, but there are plenty out there with experience using other interfaces - this issue is BOUND to get bigger..

Are we writing the Mbox off as a decent interface vs the competition? Already?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-07-2010, 05:11 PM
Hotcrazyfruit Hotcrazyfruit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,261
Default Re: Which interfaces work? Which dont?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fiveyard View Post
I agree, I'm in the same market! I'm guessing plenty of folk will only have Avid HW experience, but there are plenty out there with experience using other interfaces - this issue is BOUND to get bigger..

Are we writing the Mbox off as a decent interface vs the competition? Already?
Id like something rack mountable. I don't like clutter on my desk D: also i want lots of i/o. SMUX (8 channels of adat at 96KHz).

So many choices :3

Nick
__________________
Core i7 920 OC'ed @ 4.0 GHz (200 X 20)
12 GB Patriot Viper Extreme
Asus P6T
OCZ Agility 64 GB SSD
Hitachi 1TB 32 MB HDD
WD Caviar Black 500GB
Saphhire HD 5850
3 x 20" monitors

Eleven Rack w/ ERXP
Fender Super Champ XD
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100 Silver Edition W/ Silver Jubilee Cabinet
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-07-2010, 05:14 PM
fiveyard fiveyard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posts: 13
Default Re: Which interfaces work? Which dont?

Yup. Headmash.. I guess it depends on what you've got now and how long you can wait..

004 with PT bundle?? Probably
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-07-2010, 05:30 PM
the dude's Avatar
the dude the dude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Burbank , Kalifornia, USA
Posts: 1,184
Exclamation Re: Which interfaces work? Which dont?

will the apogee AD DA 16 FireWire versions work now with PT9
__________________

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
http://www.studio-techservices.com

าำ
studio.tech@yahoo.comm
Mitch Berger Tech Services




We service ALL Avid products no Problem
HD192, 192, Omni, Control Surface, Pre, XMON, 192HD AD & DA / Accel Cards, Everything

ALL NEW HD192 AD -DA modification. the difference is incredible... no need to ship the entire unit , fast turn around

inquiry using link above
Repairs of SSL-Neve- Consoles and Repair ALL Modern & Vintage Gear
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-07-2010, 05:41 PM
Hotcrazyfruit Hotcrazyfruit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,261
Default Re: Which interfaces work? Which dont?

Quote:
Originally Posted by the dude View Post
will the apogee AD DA 16 FireWire versions work now with PT9
its things like this that i would like to get straightened out. Maybe DTS could chime in nd offer us a helping hand.
__________________
Core i7 920 OC'ed @ 4.0 GHz (200 X 20)
12 GB Patriot Viper Extreme
Asus P6T
OCZ Agility 64 GB SSD
Hitachi 1TB 32 MB HDD
WD Caviar Black 500GB
Saphhire HD 5850
3 x 20" monitors

Eleven Rack w/ ERXP
Fender Super Champ XD
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100 Silver Edition W/ Silver Jubilee Cabinet
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-07-2010, 05:47 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,838
Default Re: Which interfaces work? Which dont?

I see no reason why the DA 16 would not work with the firewire card, since it's Core Audio compatible. Keep in mind any Apogee stuff is Mac only.

Keep in mind the AD/DA 16x series is discontinued, but some dealers may still have them, or you can buy them used.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-07-2010, 05:48 PM
forjam forjam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 37
Default Re: Which interfaces work? Which dont?

My Apogee Symphony 64 and Rossetta 800 won't work with PT 9
__________________
8 Core Harpertown 3.0
Apogee Symphony 64 / Rossetta 800
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-07-2010, 07:03 PM
the dude's Avatar
the dude the dude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Burbank , Kalifornia, USA
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: Which interfaces work? Which dont?

Quote:
Re: Which interfaces work? Which dont?
My Apogee Symphony 64 and Rossetta 800 won't work with PT 9
__________________
did you create a aggregate IO before you tried it?
__________________

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
http://www.studio-techservices.com

าำ
studio.tech@yahoo.comm
Mitch Berger Tech Services




We service ALL Avid products no Problem
HD192, 192, Omni, Control Surface, Pre, XMON, 192HD AD & DA / Accel Cards, Everything

ALL NEW HD192 AD -DA modification. the difference is incredible... no need to ship the entire unit , fast turn around

inquiry using link above
Repairs of SSL-Neve- Consoles and Repair ALL Modern & Vintage Gear
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-07-2010, 07:30 PM
thehitlab thehitlab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 21
Default Re: Which interfaces work? Which dont?

I'm running 2 MOTU HD 192s, with Lavry Golds for A/D on inputs 1-2. Works great. Pro Tools 9 just needs an input monitoring button on each channel for non HD so we can use our software mixers to have 0 latency. Right now there's no way to have 0 latency when overdubbing on a big mix session AND still be able to hear the previous takes when punching in. Need an input button so we can hear the previous take until punching in, then nothing from PT playback. That's one of the only things that sucks on PT 9 using 3rd party interface.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT9 and 003 Drivers (DONT WORK) Barry Johns 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 24 02-01-2011 04:31 PM
*****My Plugins Dont Work****** UniQueMusiQ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 11-22-2006 09:17 AM
mon out dont work sherryAA 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-01-2002 12:06 AM
D-fx , Lo-fi, Sci-fi etc. plugins dont work voltech 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-06-2002 08:11 AM
HELP!! headphone mix out dont work!! synesthesia ICON & C|24 1 06-10-2001 10:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com