Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-25-2015, 02:10 PM

Default Got a nasty surprise today... :( Non-Support

I'm new to Pro Tools. 2 months now. I've been using Reaper for 6 years and still do, but I added PT11 to my arsenal.

Odd problem for me. If I have a pop or a click in a plugin, or I do something stupid that drives the volume up REALLY loud, the master track mutes. I have to disable the Master, and re-enable it, and the audio comes back. The tracks all show the meters moving, and normal DAW activity, but no sound until I do that.

I had a 'free' support ticked that I could open. It's valid for 90 days after purchase, so I thought... "Why Not?"

My computer works fine in all areas. It's a dedicated DAW, and runs superbly other than this oddity.

So I opened a ticket and sent in the MsInfo and PT log as requested. They wrote back and said that AMD processors are not 'really' supported, and that they can't offer any more than basic support because of that. Basic support is 're-install PT and your drivers, and have a good day.'

Just so you know, I've been doing Lan/Wan and desktop support for YEARS. So I understand the need for standards. One job I did required that I build a Windows image for Windows desktops that up to 4000 people would use. So I understand standards. And how it affects support. However, if there was a product that we didn't support, we told people. If they had a business justification, fine, but we didn't support it. That's pretty normal in corporate business.

But, when I bought my support package, that wasn't a point that was brought up. Pro Tools installer didn't tell me that!

I understand the broad user base that Avid supports... but tell me up front, or don't take my money. Not after the fact.