Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-19-2009, 04:28 PM

Default Time Compression and Expansion for MIDI???

hey there, i'm currently running 7.4 on my Mac Dual 1 gig G4 Desktop with 1.5 gigs of ram.

I have been using pro tools for many years, but just recently discovered the usefulness of the "Grid" tool for quantizing midi etc.

I record my midi drums via my Roland V Drums.

I find my BPM and record that from the VDrum brain for roughly 5 mins as an audio track to utilize as my click.

I then recorded and 'corrected' my midi according to my 'audio' click track.

Well..since discovering the "Grid", i've been recording using the actual built in click track and found that my 'audio' click track wavers a bit.

Regardless....from my older sessions where Grid was not used, i re-opened them up and saved as a new file and set up the actual tempo and set the grid up to the BPM as per song needs.

By doing so, it either compresses or expands any / all midi on the grid.

My question: If i'm happy with an older performance of my midi drums, how can i re-align them to match up with the new actual Tempo in the Grid setting?

In other words, is there a tool similar to the time compression / expansion that is used for audio, that can also do that for midi?

The reason, is that some of the performances are really good, and i'd like to stretch them back to the proper tempo that is now established in my new 'Grid' sequence.

If i'm not explaining myself clearly, but any questions, comments or suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks!!

Last edited by yogi snaps; 02-19-2009 at 04:30 PM. Reason: Turned Email Notification 'ON'
Old 02-19-2009, 04:35 PM