Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-28-2024, 11:55 AM

Default M-Audio Midi Driver Removal / PT 2024

Hi, I am a Pro Tools user who is troubled that Avid would unnecessarily remove the M-Audio midi driver from Pro Tools that has been included for...I don't know how long. At least for the 15 years I've been using the program.

I think many users will see this and ignore because it doesn't affect them..but I think it's really important that we highlight when Avid actively REMOVES features with no justification. Please, please voice your concern..if this concerns you. Which I think it should.

I've spent lots of time and energy (my pleasure, really) to find creative workarounds to achieve control over Pro Tools in ways that significantly elevate the software for me. I've found wonderfully useful tools created by others that help me do the same. I heavily rely on this midi driver.

This change by Avid doesn't turn me into a potential customer for other Avid products. It just substantially degrades my experience for the one that I am currently paying for.

Aaron
Old 03-29-2024, 07:43 PM

Default Re: M-Audio Midi Driver Removal / PT 2024

In the same boat here. Removing the driver has blown up my workflow for mixing by breaking both V-Control Pro and Mulligan. I wouldn’t be upset if PT offered those functions in-house. But they don’t. Please fix this Avid. Telling us to use the ancient, ancient HUI protocol is not helpful.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Producer//Mixer//Bassist//Composer

benrubin.com

------------
PT Ultimate 2024.3, Mac Studio M1 Max, 64Gb RAM, Mac OSX 13.6.4, SSD sample drive,
Neve 8816, HD Native Thunderbolt, (2) Lynx Aurora 16, Benchmark DAC-1/ADC-1
Old 03-31-2024, 10:02 AM

Same here.