Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-14-2007, 01:53 AM

Default Help with older TDM cards

Hi all, newbie here who needs some advise.

I have brought a used D24 card and DSP Farm card from Ebay which is going into a mobile G4 with 2 X 882's. The idea is this older Protools setup will be used to record 16 channels of live audio straight from a mixing desk. However since I brought the cards and 882's secondhand they didn't come with Protools software. I've done some research and it appears that PT6.4 was the last release that supports this hardware, which is fine as it's what I'm used to on my old Digi 001 system. Trouble is I can't see anywhere on the Digidesign site where I can buy it, it appears as a download but only if you have the Authorization code from the product manual .... which I didn't get with the cards !! Is it actually possible to legally purchase PT6.4 TDM as a standalone piece of software ? ?

Also once I've got the software will I experience any problems running 6.4 on the following kit ? :

Powermac G4 733Mhz, OSX10.3 1Gb ram , AGP video, 80 GIG HD, the Powermac model with the crazy handle

1 X D24 card
1 X DSP Farm
1 X 882-20
1 x 882-16

I only want to record audio at 44K 16 bit, no plugs or editing but 16 channels at once with the option of another 882, to get 24 tracks at once

Basically will this work once I have the software ?
Any help gratefully recieved.
Old 02-14-2007, 09:41 PM

Default Re: Help with older TDM cards