Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-05-2021, 02:35 PM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,687
Default AAF from cutter, all audio synced or just partially ?

In a professional environment, what can a sound/dialog editor expect from an AAF from a cutter : just the boom synced or also every lavalier.
One could argue : Field Recorder Work Flow will do it.
Or is it laziness ?

I'm asking this, because I got an AAF with sometimes all audio synced and sometimes just the camera mic. Basically, I have to do the Field Recorder Work Flow on every suspicious single audio file for a given scene.
(And sometimes I was given a mixdown of lav1 + lav 2.)
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-05-2021, 04:16 PM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 886
Default Re: AAF from cutter, all audio synced or just partially ?

When you say Cutter do you mean Picture Editor?
If so, it just depends on the Editor.
Some only use the Recordist's mix track, some will go into the iso tracks to improve the sound, some put all the recorded tracks into the edit and mute out the ones they're not using. There's no standard way.

As long as it all links back, I'm happy either way.
__________________
Mac Pro 7,1 16 core, OSX 10.15.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, MTRX Studio, 2xRME ADA-4, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, Avid Dock, Avid S1, PT Control, Soundflow, PT 2022.4
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-06-2021, 06:40 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,687
Default Re: AAF from cutter, all audio synced or just partially ?

Thanks for your thoughts.
If the AAF is made of either method, just the mix track or everything synced, it is clear.
The problem in my case is, that there is no clear method. File names stripped of all meta data, so the only remaining chance is timecode for the Field Recorder Workflow, which spills a lot false matches.
It is all about clarity (like you said).

Has "cutter" a negative connotation ?
I met a woman from the big public Bavarian Radio/TV in Munich, who called her occupation "cutter".
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-06-2021, 08:38 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 886
Default Re: AAF from cutter, all audio synced or just partially ?

That just sounds like sloppy work either on behalf of the Editor or the DI people that make the proxy's for the edit on set.
It happens, even on expensive productions sadly.


I don't think Cutter is negative particularly, I've never heard an Editor called that before though. Maybe it's a German thing?

Picture Cutter is pretty old-school, makes me think about chopping up film stock, like a Neg cutter.
__________________
Mac Pro 7,1 16 core, OSX 10.15.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, MTRX Studio, 2xRME ADA-4, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, Avid Dock, Avid S1, PT Control, Soundflow, PT 2022.4
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-06-2021, 01:01 PM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,719
Default Re: AAF from cutter, all audio synced or just partially ?

Yeah, it's a German pseudo-anglicism

Not sure where and when it started but picture editors are often called "cutter" in common pro speak here even though no one calls them that in the English language world. They are also never credited as that in end rollers even in Germany. Equally sound editors are often called "toncutter" which translates to sound cutter. But luckily we are never credited as that :-D

There are a couple more funny German pseudo-anglicisms only used here that confuse native English speakers.
Most infamously:

Handy = mobile phone

__________________
PTHDn 2021.12 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron

Last edited by Frank Kruse; 09-06-2021 at 01:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-06-2021, 01:40 PM
kosmokrator kosmokrator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 98
Default Re: AAF from cutter, all audio synced or just partially ?

had a look at the wikipedia link Frank, and really, Danish seems to have the better ones.

How cool is this one:
"monkeyclass – economy class"

Ha!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-06-2021, 01:52 PM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,719
Default Re: AAF from cutter, all audio synced or just partially ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kosmokrator View Post
had a look at the wikipedia link Frank, and really, Danish seems to have the better ones.

How cool is this one:
"monkeyclass – economy class"

Ha!
Haha! Nice one.
Yes there are quite a few funny ones on that page. People in the US are regularly confused when a German talks about the noise level of a "beamer". "Which BMW model are you talking about?"
__________________
PTHDn 2021.12 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-06-2021, 02:05 PM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,719
Default Re: AAF from cutter, all audio synced or just partially ?

But back to your question Joachim: I've never received an AAF with all split tracks already cut (!!!) into the timeline. No picture editor I've seen is willing to maintain a timeline with 50+ tracks. Usually it' the mix track. Camera mics only on documentaries but those are tricky because as you say there's no info they share with the sound recorder other than TC. Using camera mics is asking for trouble and a pain for sound post.

F.
__________________
PTHDn 2021.12 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-07-2021, 03:05 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 886
Default Re: AAF from cutter, all audio synced or just partially ?

Thanks for the insight Frank, you learn something new every day!


I like 'Tonmeister' myself, I worked with a German Director who called me that.


Weirdly I have recieved AAF's with all the iso tracks in from Editors, but whether that's as a result of a re-conform or it's actually like that in their timeline, I don't know.
I find that Documentaries often pose the most problems in sound workflow too.
__________________
Mac Pro 7,1 16 core, OSX 10.15.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, MTRX Studio, 2xRME ADA-4, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, Avid Dock, Avid S1, PT Control, Soundflow, PT 2022.4
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-07-2021, 01:50 PM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,687
Default Re: AAF from cutter, all audio synced or just partially ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
But back to your question Joachim: I've never received an AAF with all split tracks already cut (!!!) into the timeline. No picture editor I've seen is willing to maintain a timeline with 50+ tracks. Usually it' the mix track. Camera mics only on documentaries but those are tricky because as you say there's no info they share with the sound recorder other than TC. Using camera mics is asking for trouble and a pain for sound post.

F.
Ah, good to know.
It is a documentary with no mix track (HFF Munich, final assignment).
In my case, there is no consistency, sometimes a mixdown (!) of two lavs(, with wind noise in lav1, when lav1 is not speaking, but lav2.)
Sometimes correctly all audios, sometimes camera sound only. And when importing the ISO via Field Recorder Workflows, I have to manually sync them to the camera, with up to 1 sec misaligned sync. (Maybe a Lockit-problem.)

The field recorder folder is partially stripped of all data like file comments and track names (Lav1, Lav2, Boom). It's now A3, A4, ... .
No original file names, mostly monsters like "11.09ParisSYNCED_EIFELTURM.sub.40-08.A3" or "20140808_08 Bild und Ton correct.sub.78-35.A2", when the field recorder names are like "PARIS10". What is the necessity for the picture editor to do this ?
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Post from 1 synced and 1 non-synced camera Halstein Post - Surround - Video 2 02-04-2010 05:56 PM
How to import a movie with audio synced up joji Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-06-2005 09:20 PM
Partially to brag, partially to get advice =) crs117 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-27-2003 05:09 PM
Problem recording synced up audio Saxappeal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-26-2001 02:40 PM
Session Cutter smlworld Tips & Tricks 6 02-02-2001 09:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com