Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-18-2021, 12:45 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,832
Default Re: Mastering - suite versus individual plugins

I also suggest you download Ozone 9, but for a different reason: It will allow you to test exactly what you're asking about.

Ozone 9, in Protools, can operate as an all in one suite with individual modules inside of it. But those modules also show up as individual plugins as well. So you could run a test using the suite containing the various modules, then, using the same settings in the individual plugins, run the individual plugins in the same order, not as part of the suite. Then compare the results.

There may be other programs that do this in a similar fashion, but I know this one works this way, and it's easy to find out.


Also keep in mind, before you decide to get this:

Usually when Izotope comes out with a new version of RX, then about a month behind it, is a new Music Production Suite, which contains the new RX as well. It will also have Ozone as part of it, perhaps even a new version. So definitely hold off a little bit.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-18-2021, 01:58 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,159
Default Re: Mastering - suite versus individual plugins

My 2 cents:
Use whatever gives you the results you want. I have done more mastering than I want(because budgets aren't what they used to be) and have done it with Ozone, as well as stacking up chains of individual plugins. Its how you reach the end result that matters. Any mastering "suite" can be fine, but Ozone's big advantage(to me) is the Master Assistant. Does it make a "better" master? Maybe, maybe not. Does it do it faster? Absolutely. Now, how do you define "better"?(and here is the missing bit of this discussion). There are 2 things that a "real" mastering pro brings to the table; awesome monitoring(their speakers and listening room usually cost as much as my house) and fresh ears(its really hard to be objective when you've listened to the song 200 times). Assuming you are lacking these 2 things(I know I am), using individual plugins can have you chasing your tail for days, while Ozone's mastering assistant might well get you in a good place quickly(time=money) and if you can let go and trust it, the AI that is at work is not going to be fooled by budget monitors in a poorly treated room(because its not listening to that). I say try the demo and listen to the results on many systems outside of your studio space(that's where all this matters the most)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-18-2021, 02:26 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,753
Default Re: Mastering - suite versus individual plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
I also suggest you download Ozone 9, but for a different reason: It will allow you to test exactly what you're asking about.

Ozone 9, in Protools, can operate as an all in one suite with individual modules inside of it. But those modules also show up as individual plugins as well. So you could run a test using the suite containing the various modules, then, using the same settings in the individual plugins, run the individual plugins in the same order, not as part of the suite. Then compare the results.

There may be other programs that do this in a similar fashion, but I know this one works this way, and it's easy to find out.


Also keep in mind, before you decide to get this:

Usually when Izotope comes out with a new version of RX, then about a month behind it, is a new Music Production Suite, which contains the new RX as well. It will also have Ozone as part of it, perhaps even a new version. So definitely hold off a little bit.
Thanks but the individual modules are only available in Ozone Advanced and not the vanilla version. As far as holding off my loyalty price is only good until the end of September and the new rx is due out mid October.
Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
My 2 cents:
Use whatever gives you the results you want. I have done more mastering than I want(because budgets aren't what they used to be) and have done it with Ozone, as well as stacking up chains of individual plugins. Its how you reach the end result that matters. Any mastering "suite" can be fine, but Ozone's big advantage(to me) is the Master Assistant. Does it make a "better" master? Maybe, maybe not. Does it do it faster? Absolutely. Now, how do you define "better"?(and here is the missing bit of this discussion). There are 2 things that a "real" mastering pro brings to the table; awesome monitoring(their speakers and listening room usually cost as much as my house) and fresh ears(its really hard to be objective when you've listened to the song 200 times). Assuming you are lacking these 2 things(I know I am), using individual plugins can have you chasing your tail for days, while Ozone's mastering assistant might well get you in a good place quickly(time=money) and if you can let go and trust it, the AI that is at work is not going to be fooled by budget monitors in a poorly treated room(because its not listening to that). I say try the demo and listen to the results on many systems outside of your studio space(that's where all this matters the most)
I uninstalled the Advanced version and installed the vanilla version and have been messing around with it. Something I've found in going through the presets is that I have to really dial back the levels on the Maximizer. I gave the Master Assistant a shot on one tune and it did pretty darned good but that's only one tune.


A couple of things I really don't like is I see almost no reaction on the screen from changing the knee hardness/softness. Another thing is I don't seem to get a good readout on the gain reduction. I know there's gr going on but the metering or the gr line doesn't who much of anything until I start pulling a LOT of reduction. If there's a way to change the resolution on the gr line I haven't found it.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-22-2021, 04:48 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,753
Default Re: Mastering - suite versus individual plugins

Update:
After of several trials go back and forth with Ozone and separate plugins I decided to get Ozone. That doesn't mean I'll never again use separate plugins to 'master' but there was just something that I could get in Ozone that wasn't all that easy to do with separate plugins. I'm thinking it's a combo of Ozone's eq's (I always liked iZotope's eq's) and the Maximizer that's bringing a bit of 'magic' to the table.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-22-2021, 03:47 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,159
Default Re: Mastering - suite versus individual plugins

Glad its working for you! Even when I do use Ozone, I still have a couple of other things in front of it. I stick Fabfilter ProQ3 in slot B(I leave slot A empty)for a steep hi-pass, the spectral display and main metering. And the Slate Grey for some "glue"(its an SSL-style bus compressor with a side-chain filter I set to 150Hz).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-22-2021, 04:50 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,753
Default Re: Mastering - suite versus individual plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Glad its working for you! Even when I do use Ozone, I still have a couple of other things in front of it. I stick Fabfilter ProQ3 in slot B(I leave slot A empty)for a steep hi-pass, the spectral display and main metering. And the Slate Grey for some "glue"(its an SSL-style bus compressor with a side-chain filter I set to 150Hz).
So you master in PT then I take it? I have Pro Q3 and will give your method a shot.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-22-2021, 05:52 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,159
Default Re: Mastering - suite versus individual plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
So you master in PT then I take it? I have Pro Q3 and will give your method a shot.
I do now. I used to use Wavelab, but once we got off-line bounce, that was the last buzz-kill, solved.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-22-2021, 06:40 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,753
Default Re: Mastering - suite versus individual plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I do now. I used to use Wavelab, but once we got off-line bounce, that was the last buzz-kill, solved.
I use the lower tier Wavelab for CD assemblage & final touch-up. Being it has only two insert slots per segment I had to find a way around that limitation. I've tried to separate mastering from mixing and thought the best way was to use a separate program from PT. Seeing as how PT doesn't really do cd assemblage I had to go to Wavelab. Yes - I have clients that want cd's.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-23-2021, 06:58 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,111
Default Re: Mastering - suite versus individual plugins

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
...Seeing as how PT doesn't really do cd assemblage I had to go to Wavelab. Yes - I have clients that want cd's.
I master in PTools and do assemblage for audio CD (when somebody really really insists on a CD...) with HOFA. I used to use Sony CD Architect, but have now moved on to HOFA - a really solid software.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i9-11900K / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / 64GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i7 / HP ProBook / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-23-2021, 07:14 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,134
Default Re: Mastering - suite versus individual plugins

I used to use Sonic soundBlade for CD mastering (license for sale, PM me if anyone is interested) because making final DDP deliverable was so easy. But it never got to 64bit so it is not compatible with my current system and I am too lazy to pull up old computer just for CD mastering.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
all in one mastering suite DickHarvey Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 01-26-2006 09:29 AM
all in one mastering suite DickHarvey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-26-2006 06:39 AM
T racks mastering suite thejewdrummer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 01-31-2005 08:22 AM
Mastering singles for radio with new Waves Mastering suite. Peter Duemmler Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 06-21-2002 05:14 PM
Mastering singles for radio with new Waves Mastering suite. Dimension Zero Tips & Tricks 0 06-15-2002 12:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com