Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2003, 12:43 PM
Steve Moore Steve Moore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 660
Default Norton Ghost [OT]

Q: Anybody out there have to create their own nic template to run peer to peer? Anybody running peer to peer at all?

After a recent crash wher PTLE trashed hal.ddl, the core file for XP... causing me to have to completely reinstall Windows.... (what's up with that DIGI?) I figured I would use Ghost as so many others do to make reconfiguration relatively painless.

The new version (2003) claims to work across network drives, an important issue for me since I want to be able to back up both system and audio drive images offsite to my servers with large raid arrays.

The advertisements make this sound like a Windows program with an intuitive GUI interface. BS. It's just a shell program that dumps to DOS and requires two reboots of your computer.

What's worse, is that the peer to peeer networking requires a DOS driver for your network card, something not explained up front and not necessarily available for the network adapter card already running in your computer (my card was installed using the XP supplied driver).

The list of accepted network cards recoginized by Ghost is very short... a handful of the many hundreds in use today. What's more, it can't seem to take this information from the OS. You would think with a working nic already installed in the OS it could extract the necessray information. Not so. Instead I am left with a cryptic dialog box asking me to create a template for my nic with little or no help/explantion whatsoever. Multiple attempts to provide Ghost with the OMF files have failed with cryptic error messages that that tell me nothing.

What's worse is I downloaded this pile from Best Buy with zero return policy. I guess I'm left with trying to get symantec on the phone again or spending more dollars still putting another nic in my machine that Ghost recognizes.

IMO, Norton should tell you upfront that the peer to peer feature they are boasting about has limitations.

Just my .02.

So, anybody else out there have to create their own nic template to run peer to peer? Anybody running peer to peer at all?

And for all the hype, it does not even appear to have an automatic scheduler to keep the images up to date..! And since the damn tbing requires two reboots how can I use a Windows scheduler to do this.

Oh and one more thing... the supplied help files won't open (I click on help and nothing happens) and of course there was no printed documentation because I downloaded the program directly from Best Buy.

Arghhh!
__________________
Cast of Characters Audio
San Antonio, Texas
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2003, 04:54 PM
Booyah Booyah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 552
Default Re: Norton Ghost [OT]

dont have an answer for your Nic template question but are you talking about regular Norton Ghost 8 or Corporate Edition?

The Corporate version of Ghost 8 is designed to let IT sysadmins ghost/unghost client computers from the windows managment console, cant comment about the Basic Ghost 8 you would buy in a local computer store or the one included with Systemworks.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2003, 05:56 PM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Norton Ghost [OT]

Symantec's marketing department should be shot, or they should be rewarded - depends on your perspective.

The packaging and web information regarding Ghost 2003 is completely misleading and deceptive. The situation with Firewire drives is similar to what's described above for network use. The GUI program pretends to know what to do with Firewire drives, but it doesn't really work, and their support info online is no help at all.

The GUI notices when you name a Firewire drive, and installs a DOS Iomega driver for the Firewire. I fiddled with it a little bit, gave up before getting it to work.

I paid about $70, and it's useless for my original intended use. It works fine on directly connected IDE drives, anything else, all bets are off, in spite of their claims.


__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-2003, 06:09 PM
Steve Moore Steve Moore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 660
Default Re: Norton Ghost [OT]

Ghost 2003 - all its called.... no nothing of Ghost 8 or Ghost Corp. Nortons page claims backup restore over peer to peer networks and a new improved Windows GUI interface. Truth in advertising? Where?
__________________
Cast of Characters Audio
San Antonio, Texas
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2003, 04:38 AM
mlemos mlemos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: new york
Posts: 1,114
Default Re: Norton Ghost [OT]

I have to agree with you guys. I bought Ghost 2003 and can't really do any of the things that I originally bought it for. The documentation is bad and their online knowledge base is even worse. I think that they make good products but they really have to cut down on the bs.

Marc
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-2003, 04:58 AM
PDEES PDEES is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Houston
Posts: 281
Default Re: Norton Ghost [OT]

Quote:
It works fine on directly connected IDE drives, anything else, all bets are off, in spite of their claims.
Not necessarily working fine for me on connected IDE. Ghost copies every single file, yet when I swap HDs as master and remove the original HD, XP just hangs and hangs and hangs on the blue XP screen of death. Never get a full bup. (XP mulit media center)
__________________
Kevin
002 XP2700 A7N8X
1g ram; 20/80 WD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-11-2003, 11:05 AM
QuikDraw's Avatar
QuikDraw QuikDraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Azle, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,116
Default Re: Norton Ghost [OT]

Quote:
Quote:
It works fine on directly connected IDE drives, anything else, all bets are off, in spite of their claims.
Not necessarily working fine for me on connected IDE. Ghost copies every single file, yet when I swap HDs as master and remove the original HD, XP just hangs and hangs and hangs on the blue XP screen of death. Never get a full bup. (XP mulit media center)
Sometimes Ghost will write incorrect information to the drive's MBR if the drive is not identical to the one that the image came from. To fix this use the Recovery Console to repair the MBR using the FIXBOOT and/or FIXMBR command(s) to write a new MBR to the newly imaged drive.

Also, sometimes Ghost will not set the partition to Active when you place an image on a new drive. Use FDISK to set the partition to active in this case.

These commands, though usually safe, can be destructive. Make sure your data is backed up before performing any of the above repair techniques! (You've been warned)

Mike
__________________
-- Mike
- HP Spectre x360 Convertible 14t-ea100 - 2.9 GHz (5.0 Max Turbo) i7-1195G7 32GB RAM, OLED 3k x 2k, Iris Xe Onboard Graphics
- Windows 11 - PT 2021.12
- PreSonus Quantum 2 - PreSonus Studio 24c - Mackie Onyx 1640i
- Samsung T3 and T5 SSDs - Various USB2/3 and Firewire HDDs
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-11-2003, 11:44 AM
JPS JPS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 924
Default Re: Norton Ghost [OT]

I found that the firewire connection works if I use the onboard firewire port. The ports from the SIIG PCI card, which I use for the 002r, did not work.

Don't pay $70 for Norton Ghost. Buy the OEM disk of Norton System Works 2003 from Newegg for $23, which includes Norton Ghost 2003, plus anitvirus and some other stuff.
__________________
John-Q6600,GA-EP35-DS3P, Zigmatec S1283: 235 D-Verbs @ 2.4 ghz
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-11-2003, 02:50 PM
1Nation 1Nation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 305
Default Re: Norton Ghost [OT]

Man, I'm glad I saw this thread. I've been thinking about buying Ghost. Isn't there another program that does the same thing? I think it might be called drive image. Is that one any better?
__________________
7psalms.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-11-2003, 03:03 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Norton Ghost [OT]

I've been looking at Drive Image 7 which is supposed to allow you to work inside windows.
Anyone using this?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the best way to set up Norton Ghost? jasz7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-31-2005 03:49 PM
About Norton Ghost Finnish 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-24-2005 08:58 PM
How to use Norton Ghost 9? Finnish 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 06-13-2005 11:22 AM
Norton Ghost cpnraisnuts 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-25-2005 06:26 AM
norton ghost 9.0 kinetic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 10-13-2004 07:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com