Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-06-2012, 01:01 PM

Default Would you buy a 003 now?

Pro Tools 11 asides, would you buy a 003r now? I've been on 5.3.1 since it came out so I think I could probably do without PT11 when it hits the stores, whenever that will be.

I've been doing my homework with the 3rd party interfaces, already been unhappy with one, and now I am seeing floor model 003r's at some music stores for decent prices and it's tempting me.

I'm not a newbie with this stuff, but I feel defeated and on my own. I've already got PT10, and sank a lot of money into it and the new i7 build. Now I need to get something that really works without having to test drive every 3rd party device out there, ultimately to lead to disappointment each time. No tech support either, and the DUC doesn't even seem to have answers anymore. It just seems very indecisive and ambiguous when it comes to getting some of these devices to work.

If you were not worried about PT11 at this point, would you consider buying one?

Old 04-06-2012, 05:42 PM

Default Re: Would you buy a 003 now?

I would maybe buy a used one at a good price(under $500) because it simply integrates a little better than many 3rd party boxes(which mostly need some monitoring utility). Now if anyone is using another FW interface, please counter my opinion(after all, it IS only an opinion).

The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Old 04-08-2012, 02:41 PM