Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-01-2008, 10:22 PM
CujoAC CujoAC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 17
Default (-6101) CPU Overload Error

Hi,

I'm running a MacBook Pro, 2ghz Intel Core Duo, with 1GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM, Leopard (10.5.3), Pro Tools 7.4.2 LE, Mbox 2, and I've become incredibly frustrated with the program. For the last several months (even before upgrading to 7.4 or Leopard) I've been getting a (-6101) CPU Overload Error when recording, playing audio back, or bouncing to disk. This happens with as few as 5 tracks with less than one plug-in a track (usually compression or EQ, but not on every track). The error recommends increasing the buffer size, but no matter how high, nor how much CPU I dedicate to Pro Tools I still get the error. I've tried a clean install of 7.4.2, but again I was having this issue with 7.3 as well and I'm plum out of ideas.

I'm a little baffled because with my settings I believe I should be able to run Pro Tools, with MORE than 5 tracks and more than one plug-in per track smoothly, yet I can't. I don't have internet enabled, I'm not running any other programs, and the plug-ins I use are updated and not generally resource hogs. I have friends on slower machines who run the program problem free.

Does anyone have any tips or ideas on how to fix this? I can't really record a project at this point and I'm confident that there must be some way to get this thing running like clockwork.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2008, 11:07 PM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: (-6101) CPU Overload Error

are you using an external hard drive or recoding to the system drive?
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-2008, 02:17 AM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,109
Default Re: (-6101) CPU Overload Error

1. Airport/Bluetooth and Energy Saver disabled?
2. Different USB port/cable?

Macbook Pro
The 15" MacBook Pro models have 1 USB port on the left side, and one USB port on the right side.
The 17" MacBook Pro models have 2 USB ports on the left side, and one USB port on the right side.
Due to internal USB architecture issues on the MacBook Pro, use of Digidesign, M-Audio, or third-party USB audio devices is supported on the left-hand USB ports only (the port or ports next to the power adapter cable).
*Use of such devices on the right-hand USB port is not advised because it may cause audio interrupts and/or dropped samples.
However, the use of an iLok on the right-hand port has been qualified and is fully supported.


http://www.myspace.com/philogg
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-2008, 09:33 AM
CujoAC CujoAC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 17
Default Re: (-6101) CPU Overload Error

Hey guys,

Thanks for taking the time to read my post. To answer your questions:

1. Airport and Bluetooth are disabled, not sure if Energy Saver is, I can try that.
2. I only have the USB cable that the unit came with. It's plugged into the left side of my MackBook Pro, the right side won't even power the Mbox (in general the right side really doesn't do much of anything outside of charging my iPod, kind of annoying!).
3. I'm recording to the MacBook Pro's HD, the same HD that Pro Tools is installed on. I have an external MyBook and an external Maxtor drive, both connected via firewire to my machine, but Pro Tools says that these drives aren't compatible for recording.

I'll try to disable energy saver, any other ideas though?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-2008, 09:57 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,798
Default Re: (-6101) CPU Overload Error

Quote:

3. I'm recording to the MacBook Pro's HD, the same HD that Pro Tools is installed on. I have an external MyBook and an external Maxtor drive, both connected via firewire to my machine, but Pro Tools says that these drives aren't compatible for recording.

Recording to the internal drive is likely the problem.

What does the message say, exactly, when you try to use the FW drives for recording? Did you make sure to set them as Record volumes in the Workspace window in Pro Tools?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-2008, 10:05 AM
CujoAC CujoAC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 17
Default Re: (-6101) CPU Overload Error

I'll have to come back to this later this evening as I don't have my setup in front of me, but playing from memory the error message said that neither externals were a valid drive for recording. I was unable to set them to record volumes in Pro Tools.

When I get home I'll try again and report back with the detailed error message.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-2008, 12:09 PM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: (-6101) CPU Overload Error

if you connect them via Firewire they should still work, It's just ideal to have a drive with an Oxford 911 drive. The drive most often mentioned on this forum is the OWC mercury drive with Oxford 911. They are just over $100 and worth every penny. My guess is that you tried to record to those other externals while connected to USB. That is a no no. Firewire only.

Digi, please put a huge disclaimer the first time Pro Tools is opened after install saying, "YOU MUST USE AN EXTERNAL FIREWIRE HARD DRIVE!!! DO NOT ATTEMPT TO RECORD TO YOUR SYSTEM DRIVE!" I feel like that would alleviate 20% of all posts on this site.
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-02-2008, 12:58 PM
CujoAC CujoAC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 17
Default Re: (-6101) CPU Overload Error

Actually no, I tried to record to the drives via firewire (I don't have USB cables for them), I know better than that . However, my Mbox 2 itself is the one with the USB, not the Pro with the firewire, not sure if that makes a difference.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-02-2008, 01:04 PM
OddsAre OddsAre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: (-6101) CPU Overload Error

I have heard of people on here using My Book drives, some successfully some not. These are what I use:

http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other...g/ME2FW7080GB/
__________________
Mac Book Pro Retina 2.6 GHz i7 Quad | 16GB | OSX 10.8.5 | Digi 002 | Apogee Rosetta 800/96 | PT 10 | Waves Gold/RevMaxx V9
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-02-2008, 01:28 PM
klezmeraniac klezmeraniac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: (-6101) CPU Overload Error

I am running LE 7.1.3 on a similar macbookpro, but with 2 GB RAM and M Box 2 Pro connected via firewire 400. My exe HD is attached to the firewire 800 port. I too am getting the "CPU overload/ increase H/W buffer size" message every time I try to record or playback, and I am not dealing with USB at all. I've tried adjusting the buffer size up and down, but the message just oscillates between telling me to increase the buffer size and telling me to decrease the buffer size. Help, I want to record!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU OVERLOAD error 6101 HELP hotel17 Getting Started 15 05-14-2016 01:24 PM
error 6101 / 9128 CPU overload MAC PPC G5 johnsongs74 Tips & Tricks 10 04-18-2011 04:03 PM
CPU Overload 6101 error FutureBC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-30-2010 09:06 AM
error -6101 cpu overload peter99 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 04-19-2010 02:28 AM
Error -6101 CPU overload macbookpro Eddiex 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-26-2010 02:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com