Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-15-2005, 08:23 AM

Default Budget Mic Pre. Fishing for your two cents...

Hello Folks,

I'm an Apple tech but perilously GREEN in the recording world. I know there is some serious knowledge here in DigiLand and I'm hoping you will provide your two cents.

The scenario... if you were castaway (aka Tom Hanks) on a deserted island (with electricity!) and had only one mic pre, what would it be? The catch is that it has to be under $200. Besides your Mac, a few things washed up on shore... a Shure SM 57, a Studio Projects SB-1 and one iLife '04 package with Garageband. You're hoping for more while cursing the cheap geek who bought this crap! Does the MBox float? If you get a mic pre, you can only expect something inexpensive...what do you hope it is?

Thanks in advance! You cats are too cool!
Old 01-15-2005, 09:02 AM

Default Re: Budget Mic Pre. Fishing for your two cents...

Welcome to the world of computer recording. There is a lot of information at this place...

http://homerecording.com/bbs/

This topic comes up there almost every hour it seems. But to answer your question, my favorite one is the Rane MS-1b (the "b" is important - there were previous models with out the "b" and they're not as good). It's a no frills preamp with a good clean sound. It only has +48, phase reverse, and a gain knob. Hope that helps.
Old 01-15-2005, 09:28 AM

If you've got an Mbox, there's really no much need for another budget mic preamp.

Old 01-15-2005, 09:38 AM

Presonus TubePre
check out eBay for a further discount (new dealers)
Old 01-15-2005, 11:25 AM

Hi.

Tele player is right on. The mic pre in your MBox is fine.