Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2005, 05:01 AM
glenbo glenbo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: england
Posts: 3
Default 5.3.1. compatibility problems with Quicktime codec

Does anyone know or are there are listings of what codecs can and cant be handled by pro tools?

I use PT 5.3.1 on the PC and use Quicktime movies through Quicktime 6, are there any problems between these? 5.3.1 is quite old compared to Quicktime Player 6....should I upgrade pro tools (any recommendations?) or should I downgrade Quicktime to smooth out any problmes

Any thoughts greatly appreciated....actually you'd be saving my life!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2005, 09:10 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,796
Default Re: 5.3.1. compatibility problems with Quicktime c

Since Pro Tools uses the Quicktime engine, any codec that is supported by Quicktime will work in Pro Tools.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-2005, 10:22 PM
jimlongo's Avatar
jimlongo jimlongo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: T_dot
Posts: 2,825
Default Re: 5.3.1. compatibility problems with Quicktime codec

Here's a pretty complete list of what different versions of QuickTime support
__________________
noise | jimlongo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2005, 06:01 AM
XILM XILM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: 5.3.1. compatibility problems with Quicktime c

hi glenbo
i'm also working on PT 5.1.3. the big problem we had were "muxed" quicktime files. in these files audio and video were rendered in the same data information. so we had problems to BTmovie or "import audio from current movie". use the cleaner to rerender those files.
maybee this helps.
cheers
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-18-2005, 02:45 AM
glenbo glenbo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: england
Posts: 3
Default Re: 5.3.1. compatibility problems with Quicktime c

Thanks for that....

What your saying sounds about right, I've been through all the quicktime compatibility issues and compared codecs etc for quicktimes that have been working fine and those that have been bad and the only thing that seems to stick out IS the ones that had imported audio from it...

I'm still gonna upgrade PT, seems about time really. Been using 5.3.1 since late 2002....

Cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quicktime AAC Codec Crashing PT 8.0.1 jackmackdaddy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 08-09-2010 12:46 PM
quicktime codec from finalcut tsd Post - Surround - Video 9 09-02-2008 12:25 PM
Best Codec for Quicktime Movies? Starcrash Post - Surround - Video 9 09-25-2005 06:21 PM
Quicktime codec ctgsteve Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 07-04-2003 12:30 AM
Quicktime Codec whirlwind Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 05-01-2003 03:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com