Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-1998, 09:02 AM
AxelG AxelG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Posts: 4
Default ProTools for NT to early?

I've read thru all the messages and I think I know the reason why a few things are
unclear:

ProTools for NT is coming to early...

1) For those working with Audio & Midi NT 4.0 is definitly not the right
OS. Where are the Midi drivers for interfaces like Opcode and Motu?
2) Steinberg & Emagic are going to release NT-Version of their audio sequencers in 1999 - but certainly not under NT 4.0...
3) Digidesign system requirements for ProTools on NT mentions an AGP
graphics card (probably to keep graphics action away from the PCI Bus). As
far as I know AGP is not supported by NT 4.0
4) Finally: Why releasing an audio workstation for NT right now?

To me the answer is: Everything is going to work out fine with Microsoft's
release of Windows NT 5.0. This OS will be a proper workaround for those
who are into multimedia, music etc. Maybe we will have to wait for the
summer of '99 until ProTools for NT (5.0) becomes a serious choice.



[This message has been edited by AxelG (edited 11-12-98).]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-1998, 01:52 PM
p1 p1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Eugene OR
Posts: 26
Default Re: ProTools for NT to early?

As a uswer of PT/NT i'd like to answer a few points you make...
1. Not the right OS?? Well, I don't need an Opcode or MOTU interface. The MidMan 4x4S DOES have NT drivers. Timing is solid and 4 ins & outs are plenty for us (a pro post studio).
2. If they're not going to use NT 4.0, waht version of NT will they use. There's nothing else available yet, and when there is I assume PT/NT will work under it.
3. AGP IS supported under NT...that's what we're using (an S3 Virge/GX2). It's cheap and works great. BTW, I beleive that AGP is essentially kind of PCI based.
4. Why not??
Why assume that nt5 (which MS is now calling Windows 2000) will be an improvement. I CERTAINLY didn't find Win98 to be an improvement over 95 <G>.

Feel free to wait as long as you like to get a PT/NT system...meanwhile, those of os who have them will continue to be productive (and make money) while you wait <VBG>...

Denny Conn
Project One Audio
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-1998, 02:37 PM
Echo studios Echo studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1998
Location: Drummondville, QC / Canada
Posts: 459
Default Re: ProTools for NT to early?

Oh Yeah.. agree with p1 here !

As a new PT/NT user too, believe me its really an excellent system...no probs so far
This is true that Opcode and MOTU are not going to release their NT drivers soon but in our case we'll end up with a MIDIMAN 4X4 and instead sell our opcode midi interface which wont support NT 4.0 at all.
After all, there is always some workarounds these days!

Remember, b cre8tiv!


-dan d.
Echo studios
__________________
PT HDX2 / Ultimate / D-Command ES 24 w/ edit pack

MP Dual 3.66mhz ( 6-Cores) / 32GB / SDD 8TB
OSX Sierra 10.12

Dan Desilets
Mix/Mastering Engineer, Guitarist, Composer
New Website live @ www.sublimesoundstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-1998, 05:42 PM
AMG AMG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 245
Default Re: ProTools for NT to early?

P1,

AGP is based on PCI, and in fact is pin compatible. AGP is supported by NT, but the full true benefits and potential of AGP graphics won't be realized until NT 5.0 aka Windows 2000 (terrible name). Things like AGP DMA and AGP pipelining.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-1998, 09:59 PM
JFJR JFJR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 31
Default Re: ProTools for NT to early?

Axel,
Cakewalk runs under NT 4.Logic 4.0 will run under NT(According to a rep early next year).At a digidesign demo they had beta drivers of an Opcode studio 64 running under NT 4.Emagic has NT beta Unitor drivers.If you need to do midi and audio its possible under NT 4.
Do you know that the PT software allows you to import midi files?Its not a full-blown sequencer but you can have midi and audio tracks together.
As for question 4 -Most pro software (audio-graphics-cad)run on NT workstations.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-13-1998, 03:06 PM
Przemek Przemek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Poznan, POLAND
Posts: 1,004
Default Re: ProTools for NT to early?

But we have to "bomb" Digi with one thing - MasterListCD/NT. Now we will _have_ to use Wavelab or sth - and without wavedriver it is real pain. So, Digi, what about NT solution for Red-Book audio?
Thanks,
Przemek.
__________________
http://imaginatlh.com/91709
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-13-1998, 03:19 PM
Echo studios Echo studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1998
Location: Drummondville, QC / Canada
Posts: 459
Default Re: ProTools for NT to early?

Przmek,
you can still record, edit, process, mix, all your audio files inside PT|24, bounce them in a stereo pair and finally open them in SF4 CD arch to burn them on CD.
You just have to get another soundcard to be able to playback audio inside SF4 such as an SB64 or SBLive.

trust me PT|24 is really worth it !

-dan
Echo studios
__________________
PT HDX2 / Ultimate / D-Command ES 24 w/ edit pack

MP Dual 3.66mhz ( 6-Cores) / 32GB / SDD 8TB
OSX Sierra 10.12

Dan Desilets
Mix/Mastering Engineer, Guitarist, Composer
New Website live @ www.sublimesoundstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-14-1998, 04:14 AM
Przemek Przemek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Poznan, POLAND
Posts: 1,004
Default Re: ProTools for NT to early?

Yes, Dan, but I still need another soundcard :-( and it takes valuable PCI slot that can be used for MixFarm ;-)
__________________
http://imaginatlh.com/91709
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-16-1998, 12:00 AM
Przemek Przemek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Poznan, POLAND
Posts: 1,004
Default Re: ProTools for NT to early?

>I'm interested in PT|Mix/NT. It will be available* 12'98 I hope. When will I
>be able to buy Gold Bundle for it?
>Thanks,
>Przemek.

No plans at this time to support PT NT.
Thanks,

***** Mitch Thomas
* Waves Support & Sales

THANK YOU!
__________________
http://imaginatlh.com/91709
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-16-1998, 08:26 AM
JFJR JFJR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 31
Default Re: ProTools for NT to early?

Przemek,
I got the same email a couple of weeks ago from Waves(I think I posted it). So far TCWorks,DUY and Wave Mechanic have said they are planning on devolping for PT NT but they are waiting on SDK's(software devolpment kits)from Digi.I'm suprised Digi hasn't sent these out yet.Antares and Lexicon haven't responded and Stienberg said it had no plans to support PT NT.
I guess if PT NT sold enough and enough users emailed Waves I bet they'd support it.It suprising that they would support Motu's MAS format but not PT NT.OF course the longer Waves wait the more other companies can hack their ideas.(Anyone notice Digi's Maxim is a lot like the L1?)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools 10 with Harpertown (early 2008) Mac Pro? Dags macOS 26 10-13-2017 05:43 AM
PT 11 & early 2008 Mac Pro 3,1 IslandStylee04 Pro Tools 11 56 07-31-2014 04:22 PM
Problem when hitting play on protools.. timeline starts early MX582 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-05-2010 04:30 PM
Early morning ProTools errors scott waz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-28-2006 06:56 AM
Early Christmas for me Dave M. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-02-2002 01:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com