Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 05-10-2009, 07:59 PM

Default MIDI setup in PT8, nothing works

So I've been using PT8 for almost 4 months now and haven't had a need for MIDI until now. I used MIDI with my old PC and 7.3 but can't get it working on my Mac with 8.0. I'm using the same 003R, cables, and instruments.

I have no response when sending previously recorded data (with 7.3) out to either the keyboard or the TD-12 drum module, same thing with recording MIDI in. I can record MIDI in when using my Oxygen 61 controller via MIDI out on it to MIDI in on the 003R. AMS is useless as nothing appears to be responding there. I created a new device for the keyboard but still no response. There are 5 original icons in the AMS box: IAC Driver, Network, USB Oxygen 61, TonePort DI-G, and Digi 003. Interesting thing is that the TonePort isn't a MIDI device. I added a sixth icon for the keyboard but as I said, it does nothing. Rescan MIDI and test setup also do nothing, I try to send data from either device and no change.

When I connect the MIDI out of the keyboard to the MIDI in on the 003R, the MIDI in light comes on solid as soon as it's connected.

Tracks are set up as "all" for input and I've tried every possible output one at a time for playback tracks.
Old 05-10-2009, 09:01 PM

Default Re: MIDI setup in PT8, nothing works

Since your Oxygen is already in AMS, you do not need to connect it to anything else is AMS and you should not connect it with a MIDI cable to anything. This should mean that you have it connected via a USB cable, right?