Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2001, 11:39 PM
yin7yang64 yin7yang64 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Evanston, IL U. S. A.
Posts: 254
Default My CS-10 controller occasionally lags

I'm running PT 5.0.1 on a beige 266 MHz G3 (OS 8.6), and I've noticed that when I'm mixing with my CS-10/2 controller, occasionally the moves I do with the faders are not communicated to the computer (i. e., the onscreen faders do not move and the volume does not change). Is this just the nature of controllers going in through a printer port? I have checked all the OMS set ups and preferences, and I believe I've adjusted them properly.

------------------
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-03-2001, 07:01 AM
Mount Royal Mount Royal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 995
Default Re: My CS-10 controller occasionally lags

Remember that the Cs-10/2 faders are not expected to trigger "real" fader movement until the CS-10 fader has been dragged past the null point. This is to prevent unwanted volume changes they wern't deliberately intended. Once the null has been crossed, the CS-10 fader acts pretty conventionally.

I wouldn't have used the term "lag" to describe this. Does this address your problem, or is it something else?

John Caldwell
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.4
HDX, 192 and Lucid I/O
5,1 MacPro 12 Core; OSX 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2001, 09:06 AM
yin7yang64 yin7yang64 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Evanston, IL U. S. A.
Posts: 254
Default Re: My CS-10 controller occasionally lags

Thanks for the reply. I do keep an eye on where the null points are. What happens occasionally for me is that the software "loses track" of the faders. I can move them the full extent of the range, up and down, and the system doesn't follow them. Even with PT at rest (not playing audio). Strangely, this mostly occurs with the stereo pair I've set up for channels 3 and 4 or 5 and 6. After this occurs, I seem to be able to "reset" the controller by moving the faders onscreen with the mouse or sometimes simply by jumping to a location point. Then everything works fine. I'm wondering if maybe the MIDI channel gets too congested and data is getting lost.

I wouldn't have used the term "lag" to describe this. Does this address your problem, or is it something else?

John Caldwell[/B][/QUOTE]

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2001, 11:19 AM
Mount Royal Mount Royal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 995
Default Re: My CS-10 controller occasionally lags

You're out of my league. It does sound like a data transmssion limitation. I'll guess that fader data, because there are so many shades of grey, may be more burdensome than other controller "On vs. OFF" data. Do your other CS-10 commands work correctly? For what it's worth, my CS-10/2 faders behave correctly in the setting of G4 with MOTO MIDI Timepiece USB interface.

John Caldwell
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.4
HDX, 192 and Lucid I/O
5,1 MacPro 12 Core; OSX 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2001, 12:19 PM
Noiz2 Noiz2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Detroit MI & SF CA
Posts: 1,989
Default Re: My CS-10 controller occasionally lags

The other thing you might look into is the time out factor. If you stop moving the faders for X amount of time PT takes over and you have to re-null the fader. This has happened to me when I'm moving the faders "too slowly" the only work around is to go into Write as oposed to Touch mode.
SK
__________________
www.scottkouesound.com
SK
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-05-2001, 06:51 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: My CS-10 controller occasionally lags

Noiz2,
-You might want to increase the Touch Timeout value in the Setups>Preferences>Automation window and see if that helps.

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-05-2001, 05:48 PM
yin7yang64 yin7yang64 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Evanston, IL U. S. A.
Posts: 254
Default Re: My CS-10 controller occasionally lags

Actually, this loss of fader tracking can occur either in or out of automation mode, so I don't think it's a timing out issue or a null point issue. It simply seems as though the controller data hasn't been read.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-06-2001, 12:57 AM
Noiz2 Noiz2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Detroit MI & SF CA
Posts: 1,989
Default Re: My CS-10 controller occasionally lags

Quote:
Originally posted by DigiTechSupt:
Noiz2,
-You might want to increase the Touch Timeout value in the Setups>Preferences>Automation window and see if that helps.

Brent
Thanks Brent.. what I realy want to be able to do is only posable with "touch sensitive" faders, alas alot more than I can pay. but I love my CS10-2 anyway for the things it does do.

I do have one weirdness though mode select led's get all out of sync with reality (showing solo when the mode is actualy mute etc) nobody has been able to figure it out.. cooper has even gone over it. Probably something weird with my system but everthing else is fine?? go figure.
SK
__________________
www.scottkouesound.com
SK
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Occasionally PT crashes while opening SonyOxfordEQ-GUI Hanswurstlsepp Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 02-08-2011 09:25 AM
Win 7 64b PT9 Digi 003. Sound occasionally flanges danno355 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-12-2010 06:31 PM
8.03 Locks Up Occasionally nanoweber 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-31-2010 09:17 AM
Keyboard Focus Not working occasionally in PT 8? Anyone else? Premo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 01-08-2010 03:05 AM
PT 5.0 occasionally quits unexpectedly when looping GROS Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-28-1999 02:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com