Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-16-2012, 07:43 AM

Default MacBook Pro MIDI issues & Garageband

Hi all,

This is my first time on here. I recently bought a MacBook Pro for the first time in the interest of recording music.
This is what I have:

Computer:
MacBook Pro: Mac OS X Version 10.7.4
Processor: 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5
Memory: 4GB 1600 MHz DDR3

Audio Interface:
Pro Tools Mbox Mini
Pro Tools 8.0.4 LE

When I first bought my Mac, Garageband would open and record just fine. However, once I downloaded Pro Tools, Garageband stopped working (the guitar just bounces up and down on the dock and eventually stops responding). I decided to ignore the for now and carry on using Pro Tools, which was working as it should.

Yesterday I decided to plug in my MIDI Keyboard - YAMAHA PSR E403. I downloaded all the relevant drivers, but my Mac could not detect it (after several tries). Pro Tools was also unable to detect it, but I know that the computer must have been aware of it being plugged in, as Pro Tools took longer than usual to load up and stayed stuck on "MIDI" for a little while when it was loading. (I have been plugging the keyboard directly into the MAC, as my Mbox Mini does not have a MIDI interface)

In order to rule out any possibility of a bad cable, I went and plugged my keyboard into my old (Windows) laptop and it recognised it without any trouble.

I therefore decided to uninstall the keyboard driver on my Mac in order to start again. It definitely was the right Midi driver for my mac.