Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-26-2011, 06:09 AM

Default PT 10 It's all about choice

I haven't posted on this forum much. However, I now feel the need.

I am a HD2 user. I am currently running PT8 and like many others have invested heavily not only in my system but also everything ancillary to the system [i.e. my studio, hardware, plugs, mics etc]. I am not a professional engineer and my studio which has cost me well over 6 figures is for my personal use. I am PT addict and if engineering paid anything near my day job I would change careers straight away.

So where am I heading with this?

I love PT8 and did not make the jump to 9 as realistically I saw nothing in 9 which would have changed my life. I see the benefits of 10 but cannot justify the expense of the jump.

As with most things in life we all, some consciously and others subconsciously, balance “need” and “want” with budget.

For me personally I ask “ Do I need PT 10?”- no, I am 100% happy with PT8.

“Do I want PT10?”- of course, I would be mad not to want it. It looks great and the reports on it already are favourable.

“Can I afford it?”- yes I can, however to me the “need/want” considerations are more central.

For the professional working engineer, need may very well outweigh want and the budget has to be found.

For the hobbyist such as myself, want may very well outweigh need. However, I quote the great (or not so great- depending on your view) Mick Jagger “You can’t always get what you want” and common sense does need to prevail.