Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-30-2002, 11:38 AM

Default The INDUSTRY - a discussion. off/on topic

Ya know, this subject may have been beat to death on this forum, I am not sure, but here goes. If this post falls flat then thats cool, but I am really interested in other peoples thoughts, opinions, and basic musings and rants on this controversial subject...

THE MUSIC INDUSTRY [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img]

I am a very famous recording artist many of you know, (he's lying) but I like to get down and see what the little people are thinking. [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
I am not even sure how to lead this off. I dont want this to turn into a bitch session from a bunch of bitter artists who can't seem to get that almighty "record contract", but I dont want it to be a prissy discussion on how to present your demo package to the a&r guys either and all the "how to get signed". I suppose that I would like to see a frank discussion on the music industry in general, the future, the present, and past.
I have my opinions and thoughts, and up until now, have only been able to relate to the few mates I have close to me that are also musicians and music people. But here is a very large gathering of lots of folks who all have something in common.
OK here goes... my opinion of course. I used to try and try and try to find that Holy Grail of music... the CONTRACT!! Oh boy am I kinda glad right now it didnt happen the way I wanted i to when i was in my early twenties - hindsight is 20/20. (I might be dead now if I would have gotten what I wanted given my propensity to parties and helicopter rides).