Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-07-2008, 10:31 AM

Default What is my weakest hardware link? (be gentle)

I'm a noob when it comes to PTLE and audio engineering in general. Please be gentle and feel free to point me to some 101 info elsewhere . My question relates to what I'll call a lack of "body" in my vocals.

This as a hobby for me. I record myself playing and singing in a Jack Johnson type of style (Takamine 6-string acoustic/electric and Seagull 12-string acoustic) in my home office with no room treatments. My use of the system right now is to get song ideas recorded and explore the better ones. At some point I'll want to put together a compiliation of self mixed and mastered work. I'm not looking for commercial success as a result of my musings - even though I think I'm really good . The end results will stay within my friends and family circles.

My current signal path is as follows:

Audio Technica AT3030 => XLR cable => MBox 2 Pro => AKG K240DF headphones

Before the MBox I was using the following path:

Audio Technica AT3030 => XLR cable => Behringer Eurorack MX 1602 => Line L/R => Roland VS840 => AKG K240DF headphones

That sounded much fuller to my untrained ears. So I'm curious what I can do to improve the signal path. I know throwing money at hardware won't fix my lack of skills. But I'm wondering if I even have the right tools at this point.

If I were to spend around $500 what should I focus on? The mic? Adding a preamp like the Grace 101? Would $1000 buy both at a decent enough level to make a significant difference? Should I take an engineering course?