Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-20-2013, 01:09 PM

Default Dual Monos from OMF not Recording?

Hello all,

Full disclosure, I'm an editor, but I'm trying to troubleshoot for our sound mixer. I had 8 ISO audio tracks in Premiere Pro CS6 and exported an OMF for our sound mixer. The OMF was Separate Files because the file size, 3.3GB once exported, was too big to be an Encapsulated OMF. I got a call today that he's having issues with the OMF and was wondering if you could shed any light to me please.

Issue 1: Files came in as Dual Mono when they were just mono in my timeline.
He called me and told me that everything came in as stereo pair files, which I found weird. Once I asked if he could change them to be dual mono instead, that's when he clarified that they're already dual mono. I guess he's trying to add reverb to some tracks, but that can't be done with dual mono tracks. Does this sound right? My ProTools experience ended on version 6 or so, so I'm deferring to someone here. Can reverbs be applied to dual mono tracks?

Issue 2: The mixer is trying to bus all the tracks together and record that, but he tells me when he does that, nothing records.
Again, does this sound normal? It sounds like now he's trying to blame them coming from an OMF as the issue, but I know that ProTools has been able to handle OMFs without anything else needed since version 9, and he's on 10, so I don't know why the OMF is an issue. This is the first time we've worked with this mixer, and he was supposed to get everything built yesterday before the clients came in today, but didn't and now he's running into these issues.