Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-2009, 06:58 PM
EvilElfBoy EvilElfBoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 866
Default Waves SSL 4000 TDM

Can anyone tell me how much DSP it uses on a chip? I have the native bundle and I was wondering if I should even bother if it uses an excessive amount of DSP on the Accel cards.

Any info would be appreciated.
__________________
AKA - EvilElfHobo

Pro Tools 10 HD Native | Mbox 3 Pro | MacBook Pro 2.3 i5 | OSX 10.7.4

Pro Tools Music & Post Operator V6-8, Instructor, and Expert ICON Mixer Certified.
Multi-Platinum Pro Tools Videos
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2009, 10:36 PM
badboymusic badboymusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Right Behind You
Posts: 672
Default Re: Waves SSL 4000 TDM

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilElfBoy View Post
Can anyone tell me how much DSP it uses on a chip? I have the native bundle and I was wondering if I should even bother if it uses an excessive amount of DSP on the Accel cards.

Any info would be appreciated.
Stereo:
SSL Channel or G Channel 51%
Comp 34%
EQ 21%

Mono:
SSL Channel or G Channel 35%
Comp 24%
EQ 16%
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2009, 11:29 PM
EvilElfBoy EvilElfBoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 866
Default Re: Waves SSL 4000 TDM

That's a single instance? Whoa!
__________________
AKA - EvilElfHobo

Pro Tools 10 HD Native | Mbox 3 Pro | MacBook Pro 2.3 i5 | OSX 10.7.4

Pro Tools Music & Post Operator V6-8, Instructor, and Expert ICON Mixer Certified.
Multi-Platinum Pro Tools Videos
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2009, 11:47 PM
badboymusic badboymusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Right Behind You
Posts: 672
Default Re: Waves SSL 4000 TDM

Yes, percentage shown is for one instance.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-16-2009, 05:58 AM
Mark Dann Mark Dann is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: NYC, USA
Posts: 763
Default Re: Waves SSL 4000 TDM

But you have a Mac Pro - why would you want to run TDM versions at all?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-16-2009, 07:48 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,151
Default Re: Waves SSL 4000 TDM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dann View Post
But you have a Mac Pro - why would you want to run TDM versions at all?
Low latency? Fixed-point math?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-16-2009, 02:39 PM
EvilElfBoy EvilElfBoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 866
Default Re: Waves SSL 4000 TDM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dann View Post
But you have a Mac Pro - why would you want to run TDM versions at all?
Yeah basically for the latency, if I have a snare top and bottom that are 2 separate tracks, i run them both into a mono aux to process them the same way. RTAS on auxes is just ugly as far as latency and voice usage.

Thanks badboy for the info, I owe ya one.
__________________
AKA - EvilElfHobo

Pro Tools 10 HD Native | Mbox 3 Pro | MacBook Pro 2.3 i5 | OSX 10.7.4

Pro Tools Music & Post Operator V6-8, Instructor, and Expert ICON Mixer Certified.
Multi-Platinum Pro Tools Videos
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-16-2009, 10:55 PM
badboymusic badboymusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Right Behind You
Posts: 672
Default Re: Waves SSL 4000 TDM

No problem, glad to help.

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Waves SSL 4000 opinions? bruce lang Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 06-28-2011 10:06 PM
Waves SSL 4000 Bundle Becharax Virtual Instruments 8 03-16-2011 07:50 AM
SSL 4000...by Waves French links Tips & Tricks 6 01-22-2008 02:31 AM
Waves SSL 4000 Plugins dekype Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 06-22-2006 03:09 PM
Waves SSL 4000 Collection bassmon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-20-2006 09:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com