Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-11-2021, 09:33 PM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 973
Default anyone using the Sonnet - Echo III Desktop HDX-3 enclosure?

anyone using the Sonnet - Echo III Desktop HDX-3 enclosure?

if yes - has it been solid? reliable?

and... are the fans as quiet as they say? (I know they are variable speed, temperature controlled)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-12-2021, 06:15 PM
Hugh-H Hugh-H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 218
Default Re: anyone using the Sonnet - Echo III Desktop HDX-3 enclosure?

Hello,
We use a lot of the rack version of the chassis both with HDX3 and with Nuendo using RME. They are very reliable. If using the desktop version be careful of the thunderbolt cable being bumped, there are thunderbolt cable locks that help prevent that. Note that the thunderbolt 3 version hasn't worked properly with the HDX cards, putting a TB2 card in the chassis until it's fixed works fine. Not sure if that's been fixed or not.

Noise depends on your definition. They are very much quieter than the HDX cards.

Hugh
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2021, 07:52 PM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 973
Default Re: anyone using the Sonnet - Echo III Desktop HDX-3 enclosure?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh-H View Post
Hello,
We use a lot of the rack version of the chassis both with HDX3 and with Nuendo using RME. They are very reliable. If using the desktop version be careful of the thunderbolt cable being bumped, there are thunderbolt cable locks that help prevent that. Note that the thunderbolt 3 version hasn't worked properly with the HDX cards, putting a TB2 card in the chassis until it's fixed works fine. Not sure if that's been fixed or not.

Noise depends on your definition. They are very much quieter than the HDX cards.

Hugh
thanks so much Hugh - super helpful.

I believe they have fixed the HDX / TB2 / TB3 issue.....

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2021, 08:36 AM
beatlogik beatlogik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 57
Default Re: anyone using the Sonnet - Echo III Desktop HDX-3 enclosure?

Using the rack version (EchoIIIR) over here with HDX1 and a 2014 MBP via TB2 adapter. Working amazing so far. Noise is not an issue
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2021, 08:20 PM
MixerGuy MixerGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA CA USA
Posts: 973
Default Re: anyone using the Sonnet - Echo III Desktop HDX-3 enclosure?

Quote:
Originally Posted by beatlogik View Post
Using the rack version (EchoIIIR) over here with HDX1 and a 2014 MBP via TB2 adapter. Working amazing so far. Noise is not an issue
many thanks - very helpful.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for a Sonnet Echo 3/iiir or 3/iii protoolsuserman Buy & Sell 5 06-02-2021 11:10 PM
FS: Sonnet Echo Express III-D for HDX card pl007 Buy & Sell 2 03-09-2021 07:14 AM
FS: Sonnet Echo Express SE II TB2 pl007 Buy & Sell 1 05-05-2020 12:12 PM
Sonnet ECHO Express III D francois Buy & Sell 3 08-13-2018 04:27 AM
nMP+Sonnet Echo Express III mBox macOS 11 06-27-2014 09:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com