Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2021, 05:10 PM
Parks Parks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Default Dinosaur post: What’s the jump from TDM in 2021

I’ve been on TDM systems forever now, mostly because I can use all the plugins I like without latency, and my general dislike of separate-software setups like UAD...that being said the time is probably neigh, what are folks jumping to? Carbon looks interesting but it seems like the same issue may arise (namely not being able to use Waves plugins while tracking)

Do I just suck it up and spend thousands of dollars on MCDsp or some of the Plug-in Alliance stuff and say **** it to the several decades worth of use and comfortability and licenses with Waves? Or do I look into the soundgrid or whatever their propriety (and seemingly ****ty) software/hardware workarounds?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2021, 07:12 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,269
Default Re: Dinosaur post: What’s the jump from TDM in 2021

Just jump to Native bandwagon. I only use TDM on live gigs where I cannot afford a single hiccup, but anywhere else Native beats TDM hands down. Though if you need more than 32 i/o you need HDN (for 64) and if you need more than 64 HDX is the only way.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2021, 07:57 PM
Parks Parks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Dinosaur post: What’s the jump from TDM in 2021

I have a native setup as well but i do quite a bit of "long form" recording (1-2 hours straight no interruptions) so "no hiccups" is definitely 100% required...so far from the look of things its looking like i should stay prehistoric lol
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2021, 08:08 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default Re: Dinosaur post: What’s the jump from TDM in 2021

You may have lots of decisions in front of you.

If you are looking to move to a recent Pro Tools likely a significant OS upgrade and maybe a complete computer upgrade may be needed.

Do you want to keep any of your exiting Digilink IO? Then you need at least HD Native (unless you have third party interfaces that also support other connectivity).

If you want more advice it may help to know details of what type of work you are doing/some idea of session size you have now and what you are doing, details of your computer especially, etc. If you are happy where you are now why move? What problem are you trying to solve?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-11-2021, 08:37 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,269
Default Re: Dinosaur post: What’s the jump from TDM in 2021

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
keep any of your exiting Digilink IO
I like this typo
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-11-2021, 08:51 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default Re: Dinosaur post: What’s the jump from TDM in 2021

Yeah, I'll leave it there.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-12-2021, 01:42 PM
groovebrother groovebrother is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: france
Posts: 413
Default Re: Dinosaur post: What’s the jump from TDM in 2021

i may have missed something but it seems waves has its own dsp racks to handle tracking which might be one of the reason they screwded up hdx.
Everyone wants to do like avid including uad with Luna.
It sounds like if Avid wants to keep hdx safe they should develop for good some real highres preamp in order to have that same uad pluging efficiency.


Exemples of highres pres are legions between Studer, Neve, Great River, Mastering Lab etc ... they just have to pick from best of their world and still do not understand why they still had poor preamps instead so far.


Now that been said why should you make a move if your tdm gear +plugins are working like a charm ?


Keep in mind that probably close to 90% of people do not give a sh** on how the music production has been done including who recorded it and mixed it just as long as it sounds good to their ears, that's all what matters after all.
So you can imagine what they think on which gear all this has been done...
If your mixing sounds like you want it to with your actual gear, why move on ?
And to be clear once for all, that is not the computer daw and its plugins that is doing most of the job but rather the room, the mics + pres and audio converters and of course the guy who's in charge of all this.
Most recent audio converters will work with tdm including news avid's 192


Your gear is just an excellent one and mabe you might just need some more external HW instead ?


... unless you really feel the need to have more recent plugins ...
__________________
My soundcloud page
Mac Pro 2x 2.66GHz 6-Core / 32Go Ram / PE6R4-i - HD Native - Tempo Sata Pro 6Gb - PTHD : 10 / 11 /12 / Ultimate - 192 i/o Digidesign - MTPAV - OSX : 10.6.8 / 10.8.5 / 10.9.5 / 10.11.6 / 10.13 - PowerMac G4 MDD / Pro Tools HD 5.3 / 6 / 7 / 8

Last edited by groovebrother; 03-12-2021 at 01:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice for dinosaur upgrading? guy.fi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-02-2021 11:20 AM
Dinosaur Help Jim O'Brien Post - Surround - Video 5 03-05-2010 04:42 AM
dinosaur returns to the fold... shulala Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 12-05-2005 12:58 PM
dinosaur has upgrade questions gleiter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-14-2005 08:10 AM
Is my G4 400 Good enuff or dinosaur? thumbolt68 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 09-15-2003 08:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com