Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-12-2012, 04:12 PM

Default DVD tutorials

I am very new at Pro Tools and I'm looking at purchasing a DVD Tutorial. I'm looking at two different DVD's. One is from Lynda.com which you have to load on to your computer, and the other is Groove 3 which is just a regular DVD you can play on any DVD player.

My question is this, is there a benefit to load the dvd software on your computer? I don't understand this because I'm thinking you can have only the DVD training program up or your PT screen up. So how can you follow the dvd? Am I missing something?

I like the idea of a regular DVD, I have a small DVD player I can put next to my computer and as I'm watching the DVD I can duplicate on my Pro Tools screen.

Can someone help me out with this? Again am I missing something? Thanks!
Old 01-12-2012, 11:40 PM

Default Re: DVD tutorials

Either will likely be fine, and a big help. You can also find a lot of free stuff on youtube. Just search for Pro Tools and see how many videos pop up. Lots may be fairly useless or too advanced for you right now, but there's a lot of great stuff up there

The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Old 01-13-2012, 03:31 PM

Hi,

Congratulations on starting to learn this stuff. I remember doing just what you'e about to do and it was a blast! I don't think you're missing anything. I wondered exactly the same thing too.