Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-10-2005, 09:28 AM

Default Compression overload

hey DUC, im a newbie oo2R owner and ive been playing around with beats, and playing with the bombfactory compression units. my question is, when i use the bombfactories, i find it sounds great when really pumping, so that the AUX track that has the plug in on actually runs into red. ive always been told overload is bad, but when the bombfactories are running, it only seems to sound good when overloading. is it ok to run into red on the aux, whilst still keeping the master below clip?
Old 09-10-2005, 03:40 PM

Default Re: Compression overload

Red generally means there is no headroom left(and that the signal can clip at anytime) and digital clipping sounds horrible. Once you see red, you are flirting with disaster(IMHO) so I would bring the compressor output level down just enough to "get the red out".

The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Old 09-10-2005, 09:18 PM

thanks for your reply.
thats what i was sorta thinking too, i guess i will just need to be a little more paitent and practice a bit more with the plugs, and levels. its strange tho, like with the bomb factory AUX going into red it sounds fat, not like digial clipping, but more a analogue buzz/warmth, keep in mind this is the AUX, not the master fader clipping. But i suppose i should heed advice, and practice my technique.

thanks.
Old 09-15-2005, 04:20 AM

There are a great many professional and successful producers who regularly run into the red on multiple tracks in a session, believe it or not.

It goes against every rule, but ultimately if it sounds good, do it. Screw convention.