Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2005, 07:37 AM
mkalei mkalei is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 16
Default clicks and pops

I use an mbox and I notice clicks and pops on my tracks. Does anyone know what these are and how to avoid them?

Thanks, Mark

This clip is riddled with them. It's not because of any conversion, because it's on the original audio track.

http://www.digitalsoundplanet.com/Me..._000026008.mp3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2005, 08:45 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: clicks and pops

Do you have XP service pak 1 installed? It is a must.

Listing your system's specs might help us help you.







~
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2005, 08:45 AM
·[-_-]· Richon ·[-_-]·  Richon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Viña del Mar , Chile
Posts: 303
Default Re: clicks and pops

i have the same.... tell me what the specs of your computer are!!!...EVERYTHING!!!!!
__________________
Powerbook 12" 1,5Ghz 1,25Gb RAM
M-Box v.1.0 "the old one"
PTLE 7.0 Tiger(10.4.6)
Ministack v2 NEWERTECH FIREWIRE+SEAGATE 320Gb
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2005, 08:59 AM
mkalei mkalei is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 16
Default Re: clicks and pops

Quote:
Do you have XP service pak 1 installed? It is a must.

Listing your system's specs might help us help you.

I do have service pack 1.
I'm an idiot when it comes to spec of the PC. Tell me what you need.
I know this:
60 Gig hard drive
2.6 speed
512 RAM







~
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-25-2005, 11:26 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: clicks and pops

When I download that file to my hard drive, I only hear a couple of clicks; one at about 47 seconds, and one at 1:58 or so.

Are those the clicks that you're talking about?

Tell me what brand/model PC you have.
what processor does it use? (Pentium? Athlon? Athlon 64?)
What other hardware does it have? (modem? Network card? wireless? additional sound card?)
How do you have the mBox connected? Are there other USB ports that you can try?
You're only recording to the one hard drive? (it is recommended that you use a separate dedicated physical drive for audio; might be the cause of your troubles, if so)
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clicks and Pops Jamesmi Windows 0 05-05-2012 11:09 AM
HELP!!! Pops and Clicks paul_g 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 02-20-2010 01:30 PM
clicks and pops keithaska 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-17-2009 07:00 PM
6.2.2 pops and clicks auckland yobbo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 01-13-2004 11:35 AM
Pops and Clicks timbo1437 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-19-2000 10:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com