Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-20-2023, 12:00 PM

Default 4 or 5k monitor

I'll be switching to a refurbished M1 next week (20 core, 48 core, 64Gb)

Do you have any recommendations for a cheap monitor. As a musician I don't need true colours or fancy graphic stuff. What do I have to pay attention to? I will be running M1 native (no rosetta).

My idea was to use a thunderbolt port for the monitor because I want to connect a consumer TV for scoring movies to the HDMI port.
Old 09-20-2023, 12:05 PM

Default Re: 4 or 5k monitor

Pro Tools only supports up to 1080p, however, I run a 4K and it’s fine. At native resolution text can be hard to read but scaling is helpful.
Old 09-23-2023, 11:12 AM

If you are using Mac OS, 5k is the way to go: The display scaling is the issue:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5HZO-tfsQ-A

cMP 2 x 3,46, 128GB Ram
Monterey 12.7.4
Metric Halo 3d 2882 I/O
Lucid 88192 with Blue Sky 5.1 monitoring
10gbE ethernet with True Nas storage
Old 09-24-2023, 12:17 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by resonatee View Post
If you are using Mac OS, 5k is the way to go: The display scaling is the issue:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5HZO-tfsQ-A
His summary was that scaling is essentially transparent, meaning that there's no downside to using 4K monitors w/ Mac OS. This echos my experience with monitors. I have a 4K, and scale up to a larger size, and there's no hit to my Mac Studio. It's not an issue.