Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-30-2007, 11:28 PM
mal777 mal777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 175
Default Mbox 2 USB or Mbox 2 Pro Firewire

I recently bought a Dell D820 (2.33Ghz Core 2 duo, 2 GB ram, external 7200 hard drive) and would like to buy an Mbox so I can use PTLE live on gigs to play Ivory and other soft synths. I wont be doing much live recording, so the amount of ins and outs are not important.
My main concern is performance...particularly latency, while using large sampled pianos like Ivory.
My question is, would the Mbox 2 Pro Firewire give better performance (latency, pops clicks etc) than the Mbox 2 USB?
If not I wont spend the extra $$$'s on the firewire model..

(I'd be using a SIIG 1394 card bus if I went firewire)

Any input appreciated
__________________
PT 11.3.1, Focusrite 18i20, Artist Mix, ADA8000, Asus G750 laptop (i7-4700HQ, 16 GB ram, 256 SSD system, 256GB SSD recording, Nvidea 860M) Windows 8.1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-31-2007, 02:41 AM
mal777 mal777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 175
Default Re: Mbox 2 USB or Mbox 2 Pro Firewire

Further to my previous post, I have just read that the MBox 2 is USB 1.1 (not 2.0) Now I am even more concerned about latency using Ivory.
Anyone have any comments on using an M Audio Firewire 410, with M-Powered. Would this be a better option? Is M-Powered basically the same as LE for playing soft synths?
Help please....I'm confused here..
__________________
PT 11.3.1, Focusrite 18i20, Artist Mix, ADA8000, Asus G750 laptop (i7-4700HQ, 16 GB ram, 256 SSD system, 256GB SSD recording, Nvidea 860M) Windows 8.1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-31-2007, 07:59 AM
backplay backplay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 24
Default Re: Mbox 2 USB or Mbox 2 Pro Firewire

If you want to use it for live performance and play softsynths you will be better of with another program than PT.
PT can be a pain in the *ss when it comes to using it live, certainly with softsynths!
When i do a liveset i usually use Ableton on one laptop conected to another laptop running PT, only for compression and limiting because i love the massey limiter so much and it is not released as vst at the moment.
I think you will be better of with something like "V-stack". It lets you assign different softsynths to different midi channels.
Somebody correct me if i am wrong here... but with PT you can only play one synth at a time (live). You have to click on the instrument channel to activate its midi or chose the instrument you want to play in the midi preferences dialog. This way you are only able to play one instrument at a time.

There is not much difference between M-powered and LE, search the site and you will find the differences.

Hope this helps a bit.

Cheers,
Backplay
__________________
Core 2 E6600 / P5B Mobo / 2 GIG 800MHz Corsair
2 X WD SE16 250GIG / Seagate 320GIG
Asus EN7600GS 512MB Video
Mbox PT 7.3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-31-2007, 02:40 PM
mal777 mal777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 175
Default Re: Mbox 2 USB or Mbox 2 Pro Firewire

Quote:
If you want to use it for live performance and play softsynths you will be better of with another program than PT.
PT can be a pain in the *ss when it comes to using it live, certainly with softsynths!
When i do a liveset i usually use Ableton on one laptop conected to another laptop running PT, only for compression and limiting because i love the massey limiter so much and it is not released as vst at the moment.
I think you will be better of with something like "V-stack". It lets you assign different softsynths to different midi channels.
Somebody correct me if i am wrong here... but with PT you can only play one synth at a time (live). You have to click on the instrument channel to activate its midi or chose the instrument you want to play in the midi preferences dialog. This way you are only able to play one instrument at a time.

There is not much difference between M-powered and LE, search the site and you will find the differences.

Hope this helps a bit.

Cheers,
Backplay

Well you have me thinking now
I would prefer to use PT if possible, as I just love the electric piano Velvet and several of the sounds in Xpand.
I use an RD700SX as a midi controller, and my plan was to assign different midi channels on the RD so I can call up different instrument tracks in PT.(assigning each instrument track a different midi channel) For example channel 3 Xpand vibes, channel 4 Velvet Mk1 Rhodes, Channel 5 GVI etc etc.. I don't want to have to use a mouse to click on a track when at a gig, ....rather assign the various midi channels on the RD700 to a performance, and change soft synths within PT from the RD performance buttons. (I only need to play one instrument at a time.)

....so can this be done in pro Tools? If I use V-stack I wont have access to Velvet or Xpand
__________________
PT 11.3.1, Focusrite 18i20, Artist Mix, ADA8000, Asus G750 laptop (i7-4700HQ, 16 GB ram, 256 SSD system, 256GB SSD recording, Nvidea 860M) Windows 8.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-01-2007, 03:41 AM
backplay backplay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 24
Default Re: Mbox 2 USB or Mbox 2 Pro Firewire

Have you checked the manual yet?

In the midi preferences dialog you can only select "first assigned midi track" or chose a plugin of your choise with the corresponding midi channel, me think

PT isn't user friendly when it comes to using controllers. One of my controllers, the uc-33, is programed like a cs-10 control surfaces. And it works, but it's not all that great...
I still prefer Ableton for that sort of stuff. Because you can also automate your fx if you want to mess with delays or so when your playing.

And when it comes down to stability, i still don't trust PT for 100% in a live situation, although i use it myself It's not made for live use either.

Maybe someone else can chip in and share there experience. Coz i might be all wrong ofcourse


Cheers,
Backplay
__________________
Core 2 E6600 / P5B Mobo / 2 GIG 800MHz Corsair
2 X WD SE16 250GIG / Seagate 320GIG
Asus EN7600GS 512MB Video
Mbox PT 7.3
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-01-2007, 06:58 PM
mal777 mal777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 175
Default Re: Mbox 2 USB or Mbox 2 Pro Firewire

Yep, Ive read several Pro Tools manuals....can see nothing on the subject of using a midi controller to be able to change soft synths midi channels within Pro Tools....am just about to give up on it :-(
Might post the same question in the Virtual Instrument forum first

thanks for your help on this....I tend to agree PT is a pain in the *ss to use live in this way

regards
Mal
__________________
PT 11.3.1, Focusrite 18i20, Artist Mix, ADA8000, Asus G750 laptop (i7-4700HQ, 16 GB ram, 256 SSD system, 256GB SSD recording, Nvidea 860M) Windows 8.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firewire or USB? Mbox Mini 3 or Mbox Pro 2? mbrizendine FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 4 10-12-2013 12:10 PM
Mbox + USB vs Mbox Pro + Firewire ToddnTodd Windows 5 05-31-2011 11:41 AM
Usb Mbox or Firewire Mbox??? groversi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-11-2011 07:40 AM
Mbox 2 USB Vs Mbox 2 Pro firewire cinetj 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-25-2008 02:55 PM
Firewire Mbox? eboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-07-2003 08:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com