Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-19-2014, 06:59 AM
bgsoundman bgsoundman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2
Default Default Playback Engine on session open

Is there a way to set priorities for which playback engine I use and would like to default to? I end up opening sessions and it always wants to default to HDMI or other device rather than my MBox 2 pro. This is also not dependent on what my operating system is currently using as it's output sound (this always defaults to mbox when connected). Am I slow and missing something, this didn't seem to happen in previous versions.
Muchas Grassy Ass DUC.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-19-2014, 10:00 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,978
Default Re: Default Playback Engine on session open

Hold down the 'n' key on your computer as PT launches and you'll be able to select your audio setup. Are you on Mac or PC? If Mac and you have more than 1 audio interface you could set up an aggregate setup. If on Windows you'd have to use ASIO4ALL for multiple interfaces.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2014, 08:25 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,817
Default Re: Default Playback Engine on session open

If you're on Windows and have HDMI out on your video card, go into Device Manager and Disable the HDMI on the video card. DO NOT have the Mbox set as the default sound card for Windows.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 & 11 HD Native Thunderbolt not recognised as default Playback Engine aperez Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 07-26-2015 07:41 AM
Session opens in PT10 but not in PT11 - Playback Engine does not support... DC-Choppah Pro Tools 11 2 03-15-2014 03:07 PM
audio engine error message upon trying to open a session TWY Windows 0 08-28-2011 01:51 AM
How do set a session to open in the EDIT window by default? dcarlson247 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-05-2007 11:59 AM
Select default location for "Open Session" in PT? GemSmith 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-09-2004 10:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com