Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2008, 08:27 AM
beyondat beyondat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5
Default Original M-Box as a standalone mic preamp

I know this is a question about a discontinued product but I have a M-audio delta 4x4 as my audio interface. Until recently I had a trident preamp that i would use to go directly into my delta 4x4 to record into my computer. Since I no longer have the trident preamp and my delta 4x4 doesn't have mic pres can I use my original M-box as a standalone mic pre? I wouldn't need to install drivers for it, just plug it in the usb port for power, right?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-2008, 08:26 AM
beyondat beyondat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5
Default Original M-box Question Please Help!

I know this is a question about a discontinued product but I have a M-audio delta 4x4 as my audio interface. Until recently I had a trident preamp that i would use to go directly into my delta 4x4 to record into my computer. Since I no longer have the trident preamp and my delta 4x4 doesn't have mic pres can I use my original M-box as a standalone mic pre? I wouldn't need to install drivers for it, just plug it in the usb port for power, right?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2008, 12:05 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default

The Mbox can't be used as a stand alone preamp.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-2008, 03:35 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,560
Default

Actually, it can as long as it is hooked up to a USB port to get power(maybe use a powered hub to feed it). Set the MIX knob to DIRECT and the 2 pre's should come out of the 2 outputs or at least the headphone jack. Not the most elegant way to record, but it should work.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-02-2008, 05:12 PM
beyondat beyondat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5
Default Thanks

I'm gonna have to get it back from my friend. I hope it works!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-02-2008, 06:11 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default

Thanks for the correction albee.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-02-2008, 11:11 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,560
Default

Every now and then I latch onto some odd piece of info. I have a friend that was using an Mbox to get extra preamps into his 003.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Original Mbox as stand alone mic preamp finkbmx General Discussion 6 11-13-2016 05:12 AM
Original Mbox Standalone Driver for Windows 7 Kudy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 04-23-2013 06:43 PM
Use MBox as mic standalone mic preamp? voiceoverguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 15 03-01-2011 10:21 AM
Original MBox - Standalone Driver for Windows 7 toastyt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-06-2010 01:52 PM
DIGI: MBox as a standalone preamp? nilsgrafo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-05-2002 01:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com