Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-08-2013, 04:28 PM

Default Coreaudiod errors on startup

Hi! I am a composer from the Seattle area and I purchased ProTools 10 because I will be learning it in a few months. Ever since installing ProTools, I have been seeing these errors on startup:

com.apple.audio.coreaudiod <Error>: kCGErrorFailure: Set a breakpoint @ CGErrorBreakpoint() to catch errors as they are logged.

com.apple.audio.coreaudiod coreaudiod: _RegisterApplication(), FAILED TO establish the default connection to the WindowServer, _CGSDefaultConnection() is NULL.

com.apple.audio.coreaudiod[97] _RegisterApplication(), FAILED TO establish the default connection to the WindowServer, _CGSDefaultConnection() is NULL.

I have not seriously started using ProTools yet so I can't say whether there are other problems yet. I googled these errors and the closest thing I found was an Apple support thread where a guy figured out that ProTools caused this problem and he solved it somehow, but he did not offer any details or the solution itself. I have read that coreaudiod not responding and crashing the system is a known issue so I'd rather handle this issue now.

When I remove the various Avid/Digidesign system LaunchAgents/Daemons and Startup Items, the problem goes away, but ProTools won't start. The only way to make ProTools run again is a clean uninstall and reinstall. So this is clearly a ProTools problem.