Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2009, 12:38 PM
hammster hammster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 11
Default Digi 003 and Windows XP Blue Screen

Hey All,

For the last year, I've had a Digi 003 on my Windows XP Pro Dell, running Pro Tools LE 7. No problems or issues. I recently updated to version 8 of LE. I've ran version 8 fine, but always had the computer booted up before turning on the Digi 003.

Here's a quick summary of my issue:

Last night, I was powering up my systems and turned on the Digi 003 first. While booting up, my PC threw the blue screen with an error about a system file being missing. I began researching and testing, thinking I either had a bad hard drive or a corrupted registry.

After getting ready to reinstall Windows, I powered everything off and took one last shot at rebooting just the PC. Windows came up fine.

The only thing I can come up with that was different, is that the Digi 003 was powered on before starting the PC. The error sounded fairly serious, so I'm a tad concerned about possible issues with new 003 drivers that may have loaded with version 8 of LE.

Any thoughts or comments? I'm probably going to just leave things alone and remember always boot up the PC first, but this would be something different from what I've seen over the last year (with version 7).

Thanks,

Hammster
Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-07-2009, 12:47 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,634
Default Re: Digi 003 and Windows XP Blue Screen

I always turn on the interface and computer at the same time. I have never had an issue with it.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2024 HDX Hybrid
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-2009, 01:08 PM
luffe luffe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 67
Default Re: Digi 003 and Windows XP Blue Screen

Hi Hammster.

I always fire up the 003 console and then the PC. I upgraded to PT 8 the other day. I have no problems with blue screens and never had on 7.3.1. either. During the PT upgrade I also upgraded the digi 003 factory (console) firmware.

Best regards,

luffe
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2009, 01:15 PM
hammster hammster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 11
Default Re: Digi 003 and Windows XP Blue Screen

Hmmm...well, maybe it's time for a reload of Windows. I did clean up the registry, so maybe there was something else in the way and timing was coincidental. Lord knows there's enough other possibilities that could have been at play. I'll have to further investigate and see about finding any other trend. Thanks for the feedback.

Hammster
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2009, 02:25 PM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alabama, USA
Posts: 4,023
Default Re: Digi 003 and Windows XP Blue Screen

I've found that I have to have Windows up and running and then start the 003R. Even then I still get a "hardware not found" error from time to time when starting pt.

Peace!
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7, pluging in Mbox2 Mini (digi...not avid) causes blue screen rtman26 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 04-14-2012 06:46 AM
Blue Screen and AMD Windows 7 PC yagga121 Windows 5 02-28-2012 08:34 AM
i7 and Windows 7 blue screen of death beallstreet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-08-2010 02:47 PM
Windows XP Blue Screen with Digi 003 powered on hammster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-07-2009 12:37 PM
Digi 002 PTLE "Blue Screen" windows crash!!! articulatedrama 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-26-2005 06:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com