How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-22-2011, 07:02 AM

Arrow Advice on Separation and Quantize

Hello,
Well, look through my posts.. all asking for help on one thing for another.
Im still learning PT as i've just moved across to it... picked most of it up but you come across the odd hitch you need to ask someone how to do.

Now, I am recording my drum kit. I watched a video and hey-ho I learned how to separate the kick track at the transients into seperate regions.
Then, Ctrl-0 and they are quantized to the grid I have selected. Everything is in time.

So, the problem I am now having is that there are some clicks popping in occasionaly inbetween each kick. It is the audio as it only does it on specific ones but after the separation and quantize the clicks are here. I am almost certain it is where there are gaps inbetween the regions.

I am wondering, what would someone do in PT now if they were in this situation? Is there a better method of quantizing a drum kit? Is there a way to now link all the regions back into 1 track again so there are no gaps inbetween regions.

Please tell me! :)
Thanks for your time
Old 02-22-2011, 07:21 AM

Default Re: Advice on Separation and Quantize

Hi Icot,

Whenever I cut a region into more regions and if they are glued back together or stay seperate I always apply tiny fades in the begining and end of those regions. Even if you don't see pops and/or clicks in the waveform of such a region you will hear it. Apply those small fades and it will be without clicks/pops.

Regards, Luc