Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-27-2003, 06:39 AM

Default Hip hop makers, Akai MPC or softsampler?

I make hip hop. I use battery to do the drums, but lately ive been thinking about getting one of the new MPC 1000s.

Im not good at playing drums with my midi keyboard in real time, so I pencil in midi data into a midi track and hook that up to an Aux track with battery on it. I do this in grid mode (16th notes). This way, kick, snare, and hi hat lock in perfectly. But maybe too good. I listen to it, and it sounds good, but when i listen to a pro hip hop track their drums 'seem' to be more real. I dont know, maybe im just imagining it, because they would quantize to lock in the beats, right? Making it the same as mine. I cant hear the difference in timing, so it might be something else that is creating that live feel. My point is, would using an Akai sampler, give me a more expressive, better sounding beat? No matter hard you work on re-creating something, sometimes its too hard to capture a live performance. Thats probably not too clear, but you get the idea, right? I just feel like, maybe an akai would be better.

Thanks

Alex
Old 11-27-2003, 06:55 AM

Default Re: Hip hop makers, Akai MPC or softsampler?

Maybe it's your samples?
My bud brought over some phat beats he did on his Kurzweil. And timings were perfect, just the drum samples were weak. So we tried other samples annd bammm...it added BEEF THUMP Air to the mix!
That's all it was ....his samples
Old 11-27-2003, 07:01 AM

Some of those boxes are really cool. If you are good at setting things up but do not like the perfect timing thing try using some midi groove templates